We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Fresh Food, Clean Restaurant”
Review of Casa de Mateo - CLOSED

Casa de Mateo
Price range: $19 - $77
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: Saint Paul
Description: Six times Consumers Choice award winner and their 2003 Gold award winner, and The Montreal Mirrors Best Mexican restaurant, CASA DE MATEO is nestled in the heart of the arts district in the Old Montreal, just steps away from the Notre-Dame basilica and Place d'Armes metro station. Come sample our authentic Mexican cuisine such as our Guacamole made table-side, enjoy one of our famous margaritas made of fresh squeezed juices, and listen to the music of the "Aguilas de Mexico" Mariachi band featuring Senor Macario Rodriguez. With a bar, large dining area and private reception room for parties of up to 100 people, we are sure to have something to accommodate your needs.
Garden City Park, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fresh Food, Clean Restaurant”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

4 adults, 2 children (8 and 10 years old) all enjoyed the delicious Guacamole, Chicken Salad, Fajitas and of course, the Mariachi Players.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    53
    23
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for a family dinner”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our meal, especially since this restaurant offered a kid's menu. The food was very good, large portions and they were vegetarian options. My limon margarita was a bit too tart for my taste but the freshly made guacamole (made table side to our taste) was delicious. The service was excellent!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mb2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can you say Yummy guacamole!?”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal and our Margaritas! The fresh made guacamole was awesome, and the musicians were fun too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
268 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“We would never go back”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went because of location for a quick meal before seeing a play at the Centaur theatre, across the street. We emphasized to the waitress that we had about 1 hour before having to leave. To say that the service was slow is an understatement. She kept saying the meals were coming but they were not. The food, once we got it after 40 minute wait, was borderline edible. I don't love Mexican unless it is gourmet level. This was worse than take out. Except for the rice, the food was overlooked and bland. The mole dish was unauthentic and the duck dried out. My wife's chicken dish wasn't mole, but had the same greenish sauce!!??
Had trouble paying. The waitress was apologetic, smiling. Or was it smirking?
Terrible experience overall. We'd never ever go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thetraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ho Hum”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very ordinary. The one good thing was the salsa served with the nacho chips. Otherwise, the food was not worth the money. The service was friendly enough, but the place seemed disorganized. They weren't sure that the draught beer taps were working, and they were out of one of their very few wines on the list that was supposed to be available by the glass. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkandroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de Mateo also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing