We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ribs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Main Deli Steak House

The Main Deli Steak House
Ranked #266 of 5,655 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, Canadian, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place is overshadowed by Schwarz across the street. We met some people who live in Montreal and they showed us around. Apparently this place is much better than Schwarz so if you can give it a try. They all ate the smoked meat sandwich and I ate the ribs. Ribs were amazing! My only complaint is the pickles were soft. Other than that, fantastic deli!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    98
    32
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
180 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A good option for Smoked Meat and Poutine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Another solo trip to Montreal for me, and after sampling Schwartz's, Dunn's, and Le Roi du Smoked Meat on previous visits to town, this time I wanted to give The Main a try. I was not disappointed. As others have stated, you can brave the line-up across the street at Schwartz's, or you can come in here and sit comfortably at your own table and enjoy tender smoked meat that is as good or better than the competition's. As a bonus, their poutine is also outstanding; I had a combination meal of a Smoked Meat sandwich with a side of poutine and a can of black cherry soda, and walked out satisfied and happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Grove, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“NY Deli in Montreal?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I don't know anything about the competition between the Main and the place across the street, I was just a hunger tourist who just peered inside and thought it looked authentic. Onion soup and the basic smoked meat sandwich for $11. Might have been cheaper than a McDonald's, but you can't get French onion soup in McD's. The soup was good, not the best I have ever had, but a good value for the price. The sandwich was great. Simple without some sickly sweet BBQ sauce. The waitress wasn't exactly charming but that is why it might be a NY deli in Montreal, but she did buzz me into the 2nd floor bathroom. BTW according to an old newspaper article on the wall Leonard Cohen use to hang there. Another place that makes St. Laurent Blvd. an entertaining stroll.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NaylandXSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If Schwartz is too busy...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

If Schwartz is too busy, The Main, which is located right across the street, might partially fulfil your smoked meat craving. But nowhere near the taste of Schwartz!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wissam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Falls, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“Laughable experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Guess we should've just tried the smoked beef because the meal we got was horrid. Ribs that were dry and had a horrible terriaki sauce on them and my husband had the beef ribs with the same horrid terriaki sauce. And the piece of liver and weiner that came with his meal - - We got a good laugh anyway - - the liver so very dry - good sole for a shoe. Wish we had taken pictures. The place was not clean and the banging and clanging of the dishes was not great. She never even asked if we would like a drink.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharronc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Main Deli Steak House also viewed

 

Been to The Main Deli Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing