We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be a tourist”

The Main Deli Steak House
Ranked #299 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't be a tourist”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

On my trip to Elgin Street Diner in Ottawa (see my other review), the waiter said forget the big deli that everyone goes to (starts with an 'S'), when you can go to Main. It's across the street, where the "locals go to eat", slightly cheaper and equally delicious!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    112
    35
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Main (across from Schwartz) Montreal”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is the place to go for HOMEMADE excellent delicious desserts. Keylime cheesecake was divine, and their perogies are just like your Mom use to make. Larger restaurant than Schwartz and more peaceful, we will try this next time for smoked meat. Waitress was very friendly and it was an excellent finish to a lovley evening.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Auchkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You Don't "Gotta Eat Here"”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Terrible. Went there because of the Food Network Show. On a Wednesday, no one was there. The waitress approached us 3 times in less than 5 minutes to order. For an order of poutine with smoked meat, rack of ribs, and a smoked meat sandwich was 45 dollars. Expensive for a hole in the wall. The ribs were dry, basically rewarmed with sauce that was runny and way too sweet was almost a honey garlic. The smoked meat came with their version of liver and sausage. It was a piece of dry liver put on the grill and a hot dog. So disgusting. We were literally in and out in 20 mintues. They brought out the food so fast that the cheese curds hadn't melted and only did so by the end of the meal. I would never recommend going there. The tv show lied!!!!! Really not as seen on tv. Had much better meal in Chinatown for the same price with way more food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Glad we tried La Main”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We did some research as to which smoked meat we should try, since we would be in Montreal for a short time. We wanted to get it right the first time. We were thrilled with our choice. The service was great, the seats were comfy and the people were friendly. We had the special which was a smoked meat sandwich, pickle, fries and coleslaw, and a soda. The price was very reasonable.
The smoked meat was seasoned to perfection, not too salty. Wish I brought some home with me. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elyoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Go Here...Not There.”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I wanted to join in to the Smoked Meat war, so I tried both the Main and the other guy across the street. Not only would I not line up for the other guy, I'd far sooner eat at the main. Bigger menu, better service, better smoked meat (IMO). Just my .02 in the great debate, FWIW.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorefeettoproveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Main Deli Steak House also viewed

 

Been to The Main Deli Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing