We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pho”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pho Lien

Pho Lien
Ranked #393 of 5,668 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
1 review
“Excellent pho”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Excellent pho for a good price. We were so hungry we took XL pho it was more than enough! The service was quick and surprisingly prices were already taxes included. Thanks! We'll be back...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank polo9587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Possibly Montreal's Best Pho”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I find it hard to hands down declare that Pho Lien has Montreal's best pho because I've taken people there who have fallen in love with the pho and I've taken people there who have said it was good but not great.

Personally, I've tried many pho shops in Montreal and I've still come to the conclusion that Pho Lien has the very best pho in town. The shop is always busy, particularly during peak hours, and line ups are common. So do expect a bit of a wait, especially if you show up as a big group. If it's your first time at Pho Lien, whatever you do don't leave!

The beef pho and chicken pho are both excellent. It's really the broth that makes a good pho and this place has AMAZING broth. I've also had the chicken and beef rice dish and that's also quite tasty if you're looking for something other than pho. If you're feeling like something sweet, treat yourself to a chè ba màu, a nice cool dessert beverage. Basically, Pho Lien offers you fantastic food at very reasonable prices.

If you're looking for Vietnamese pho, definitely give Pho Lien a try!

Tips: bring cash / change, bring your appetite if you order the XL pho and the restaurant is CLOSED ON TUESDAYS.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GYeh514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great lcoal resto”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Close to where I used to work and always came here for lunch. As long as I can remember always fresh meat nice freshly cooked soups. The Pho Soup is the best and my favourite. Since I don't work in the area I regret that there are not so many places around in Montreal that deliver good quality Vietnamese food. Really really good quality Asian food

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Vietnamese food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Very authentic, tasty Vietnamese food. Pho beef broth tastes amazing, very aromatic. The spring rolls are very popular and tasty. Lots of veggies with the Bun dishes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwoKidsCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing soup. ALWAYS packed-which is a good thing when it comes to restaurants.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I had a large bowl of Soup n'1 on the menu which was a mix of all meats, it was delicious, mixed in with some hoisin and hot sauce.

Note to self: There's barely any parking on the street because of it's location( front of the Jewish Hospital). There is a paying parking at the hospital.
The place only accepts CASH

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Lien also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Pho Lien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing