We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great!”
Review of Romados

Romados
Ranked #174 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

great chicken, crowded but good.good value for money. decent service - food makes it worth the visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    79
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simple and delicious”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is more a shop/restaurant than a restaurant. It has probably the best chicken in town with huge (and I mean HUGE!) servings for a very reasonable price. The place is almost always crowded so the few tables inside are constantly occupied and there is not much of service but the food is simply great. It is obviously a much better choice for take out than for eating inside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Qran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Chicken”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great chicken and fries. (deserts are good as well and made freshly in the in their own bakery!) Huge portions at a reasonably low price. What else could you want?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top Chicken in a Chicken City”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Montreal has some great chicken (and it's roast chicken we're talking about). Everything from the commercialized St. Hubert and Scores to the praised Chalet BBQ encapsulate what roast chicken means to Montrealers. Then there is Romados. Romados specializes in Portuguese roast chicken. For those of you who don't know, the Portuguese have turned roasting chicken into an art.

Romados, from both the outside and inside, doesn't look like much. Actually, you would probably walk by it if you didn't know what it was. There are about three tables to sit at (if you're lucky enough to do so), two lines to order from (for this who have and have not called ahead), and one cash where you pay. It's all quite simple.

Now the food. Although I'm aware that there are specials (cod cakes, pork roast), I've only had the chicken. The chicken is served whole, half, or quartered. Included is salad, homemade fries, and rice (leave it to the old school Portuguese to serve rice and potatoes). The fries are good, they're thick cut, more soft than crispy and generously spiced. The salad is nothing special as is the rice. Now the chicken.

Romados chicken is slow roasted over charcoal. Nicely spiced with tons of garlic and basted in their famous piri piri sauce, the result is a deliciously moist chicken. When served, the chicken is again generously slathered in their piri piri sauce. The sauce itself is not overly spicy, rather it adds a lot of depth to an already delicious piece of meat.

Romados is worth a visit, revisit, re-revisit. The chicken is absolutely out if this world. The price is also phenomenal. You get more than you pay for. Two can easily share a half chicken meal for under $10.00.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bongo-God
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

First time having Portuguese chicken and boy was it delicious, well cooked and the seasoning/saucing was amazing! I didn't expect a fancy classy environment so I knew what I was getting into, the only reason for 4 stars, I thought the staff could use a little smile, they are probably at a point where they will sell regardless of customer service but it will give the extra push they need. To put things into perspective, the next day I went to Piri Piri in the village, it completely pales in comparison, the chicken tastes like something from a metro food court, dry, flavourless, one of the guys tried to charge me extra for something I didn't ask for... it was a combination of bad service and bad food. Well I know now there's only one Portuguese chicken place to go next time I'm in town :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fyz2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romados also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Romados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing