We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So worth it!”
Review of Romados

Romados
Ranked #188 of 5,772 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So worth it!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

First you have to drive through a seriously trafficky part of town, and then you have to hunt for parking. Make sure not to underestimate at the meter, because you will stand in line. Make sure you know what you want too, because questions are usually treated to blank stares.

But all the aggravation will melt away as soon as you take your first bite of the best Portuguese chicken you are likely to experience. Perfect spices, expertly grilled, quite simply spectacular chicken. Fries are great too. And don't even get me started on those little custards, but I challenge you to eat just one.

There are only a few tables, so plan to pick up and take out unless you like eating with a throng of people standing in line around you. Also, it's helpful to bring a bag or gloves with you . . . most of the time they hand you a piping hot bag of fries and you have to stand in line waiting to pay, all the while burning your hands. Even that turns out to be worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank heartofaskeptic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    82
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Exuma
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth it each and every time.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Every once and a while we go to Montreal to bargain shop for clothes Saturday mornings on Chabanel St. in Montreal. Great deals. Makes us hungry. We pop down to Romados on Rachel near where we used to shop at Paris Starr for great clothing deals now closed.

We pick up at the same time the super Portuguese pastries, esp. the natas [sic] and bread, but also buy a combo meal of 1/4 bbq chicken (1/2 breast and a wing), salad, fries slathered in an oily hot sauce. To die for. This simple meal also comes with a bun and a dessert, this time with a mini pudim flan. All for $8.75 (+tax).

Our only regret is that they don't serve the chicken sandwich on the weekend. It's been too long since we've had one of those.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JC O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE chicken place to go to!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Absolutely the best Portuguese chicken around. There is often a line up, but it goes fast and is 100% worth the wait. It's a small little place which is easy to miss but you can smell the delicious scent of the rotisserie a block away! I come from the south shore and we drive into town especially for Romados. The workers are always pleasant and joke around with you. You get huge portions, and if you like spicy, ask for their spicy sauce on everything it's to die for. It's especially a great place to go to in the summer since the dinning area is very limited you can take your meal to go and walk up to mount royal and enjoy your feast on a picnic table while listening to tamtams.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HersheyKiss0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A MUST GO!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I come to Romados probably once every couple months. There is pretty much always a lineup for their food!! Very cheap for food that can feed an army! Delicious portuguese chicken grilled to perfection smeared with their spicy sauce...mmmmmmmmm! And if you go before 2pm, you get a free tart with your meal as well!! Down side: MUST be take-out as the restaurant is very small and only has a couple seats.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aabcdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't make your own this cheap!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Delicious when you're in the mood for some greasy but yummy fast food. The price is unbelievable for the amount of food you get.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emahoney06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romados also viewed

 

Been to Romados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing