We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Spot!”
Review of Romados

Romados
Ranked #188 of 5,723 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

If you are looking for some really good chicken, fries and a side of salad, look no further! Romados is obviously a neighborhood spot that was not near the most of the restaurants on St. Dennis street. The major draw back is that seating is limited and we had to clean our space some, but the food was definitely tasty and they give you a LOT of fries and chicken with their special sauce!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    82
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You know it's good when the locals are lining up at open time...”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

After my boyfriend and I viewed this video that my friend shared of Rotisserie Romados:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPjz1dri7yY
...He HAD to visit there, and I wanted to see if this place was as matched the reviews- we were NOT disappointed- The container was filled just like in the video, and they even gave us an extra egg tart for dessert and a small bun! Delicious, well priced, great atmosphere
Their kitchen opens up at 11:30, and although our group of 6 friends was early, there was already a line forming. The half chicken combo with rice, salad, and fries was big enough to share for 2 and we even bought another combo to have as dinner the bus ride home. A friendly local who was in line with us shared how he's a repeat customer- and I could see why. Next time I go to Montreal, I'm coming back for you Romados!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank HtotheVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, NY
Level Contributor
196 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chicken - Gotta Have It !!!!!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

In Montreal? Don't waste your money on tourist restaurants - GET HERE, and GET SOME CHICKEN!! Really - it's worth every penny. Incredibly juicy tender chicken - you won't be disappointed. Only drawback was limited seating. LOVED IT!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabre4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York
Level Contributor
180 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Believe the hype about this place!”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Yeah, you stand in a long line, kinda out of the way for tourists, and hardly any place to sit down, BUT... the chicken, oh my! It was so good! Juicy, tender and just so much flavor! We ordered the 1/2 chicken with fries, salad and the "spicy" sauce. You also receive a little bag with a freshly made roll and a homemade custard tart, all for $10. OMG, just so, so good. We did have to wait until some people got up to sit down at the very limited seating area, mostly which are facing the large glass windows, but the wait for the seats were for only about 5 minutes. You get a very large amount of the fries & you will never be able to eat all of it. Since it was a little ways from the Old Montreal area, we took a taxi that costs us $13 one way. It was worth it though. When traveling, I like to experience the locals and local places to eat, not fancy, way over priced restaurants for tourists, and trust me this place was filled with locals (workers, business men, ladies with children etc...). When in Montreal, and you want great chicken, Romados is the place! Trust me.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pepper1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Messy little tasty heaven”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Super long lines, must mean the food is good right, EXACTLY.
Should have ordered a 1/4 chicken, cos they pile on the food here. Such tasty chicken and never knew mushy fries could taste so good. You have to get the spicy sauce, let them put it all over your chicken and fries, its what elevates the meal. Cant wait to return.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romados also viewed

 

Been to Romados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing