We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duc de Lorraine is back!”
Review of Duc de Lorraine

Duc de Lorraine
Reserve with OpenTable
Duc de Lorraine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,007 of 6,524 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $38
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Parc du Mont-Royal
Description: Duc de Lorraine, open since 1952, is Montreal's oldest French pastry shop. From our critically acclaimed buttery croissants, to our traditional fine pastries, we have maintained our original recipes from our great chefs over the years. In addition to our fine pastries, we also offer a wide selection of French cheeses, charcuterie and traditional French dishes. Our special location near Saint Joseph Oratory gave us the opportunity to serve and satisfy customers from all around the world with our fine pastries and delicious dishes as we welcome over 250,000 customers yearly. Opening Hours: Mon-Sun 6:30 AM to 10:00 PM
Reviewed September 18, 2018

This landmark pastry shop is hopping! For so many reasons.
This stalwart old standby is now hip and happening. Check out the beautiful, little corner
terrace across from a tiny shaded park with relaxed seating areas. The serving staff are actually welcoming and helpful. The menu has variety including something for everyone, savoury, salads, viennoiseries, full meals and now a full bar too! If you gave up going here in their transition a few years ago, it's time to come back. They're back with a bang!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 330 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Delicious lunch, fabulous cocktails, and a bakery that all would envy! No better Poutine! (Our culinary palettes believe perhaps a bit of sherry cooked into the mushroom gravy was what added an extra layer of flavor to this dish). Their Onion Soup was a hearty meal in and of itself! And be sure to leave room (or take home for later) for desserts and pastries! The chocolate croissant made for a fabulous coffee accompaniment the next morning!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JennStar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

A really nice Sunday and the terrace is full. It’s a no wonder . The Atlantic sandwich (smoked salmon, cucumber, lettuce and capers on a baguette) was superb.

This French bistro deserves to be patronized as it doesn’t fail to satisfy!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank -robinstone091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Wow! Thought I was in Paris! Fantastic small desserts- Napoleons, Creme caramels, fruit tarts, chocolate tarts , amazing! Hard to park your car here so best thing is to go in and get your desserts and then take them home! Take the Montreal transit or a cab!
Not cheap but worth it!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 667lorrainet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

Visiting from Toronto, my family and I decided to have breakfast here just this past Saturday morning. The staff greeted us so politely upon arrival. The French music playing lightly in the background and the smells from the fresh pastries and baguettes made it feel like you were somewhere in Paris. Our waitress was amazing! Our breakfast was delicious. After we finished eating our breakfast our waitress brought us some delicious macaroons. I would definitely recommend this place and I definitely will go back next time I visit Montreal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Adreana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duc de Lorraine also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Duc de Lorraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing