We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some dishes are good, some are not fresh”
Review of Sana

Sana
Ranked #1,345 of 5,772 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Villeray-Saint-Michel-Parc-Extension
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Some dishes are good, some are not fresh”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I like going to Sana sometimes, but sometimes only. The reason being that all dishes are not fresh. The ambiance is very average. Food can be very oily. There Nihari and Halwa puri on week ends are really tasty.

The restaurant has to be one of the best in terms of pricing that is for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious cheap food.”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A friend of mine told about this place and i didn't regret. It is not fancy but the food is excellent and not expensive. the service is okey. I will go back anyime.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank eternel2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and excellent food, poor ambiance”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This is the only place i have found in montreal that serves a pakistani breakfast. i have been there a few times already and the food is ridiculously cheap and tastes amazing. however, the staff could definitely use a course in customer service though. Dont get me wrong, the staff isnt rude but they arent pleasant either. but i can ignore the staff and the ambiance for the great deal(price and taste). If u never had a pakistani breakfast before, u must try it once in ur life, just try to get there before 2pm. also haleem was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mghalibk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food is good..service is rude”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I know this restaurant very well, i eat there at leadt once a week. The food is always very good and the service is not that much bad but there are two waiters sulling the reputation of this place with their rudness.
But still an overall nice restaurant And above all very very cheap so im sure you guys will do like me and come again and again for the nice and cheap food

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yahamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Good food - but tried to rip me off for $1”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Just back from getting a take-away. Noticed an error on the bill. $5 instead of the $3.99 on the window for a chicken biryani.

The manager told me it was a dollar extra because I was paying by card. I asked if this included Debit card. He said yes. I said wtf? Then he saw I only had $15 cash and said he would take that and give me a discount (It should have been $16). In the middle of discussing it, another guy arrived and tried to tell me that the first guy (the manager) had made a mistake, was new, didn't know the place very well. There never should be a dollar charge for cards. That I misunderstood what he was telling me. That the till hadn't been updated, blah blah blah.

This could be true about the till, but basically they tried to feed me a load of horse dung for excuses as to why he tried to rip me off. The manager put his nose in the air and didn't say a peep when I asked him to defend himself...

I felt like a real idiot making a stink, but seriously? Trying to do me out of a dollar. What a cheap piece of work.

I got an apology and my $1 discount to boot. It won't happen again I am assured. But will I be back there? I probably would have, as the food is OK, but not after that scene.

So, briefly, food is fine, BUT CHECK YOUR BILL

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sana also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Sana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing