We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful bistro experience”
Review of Joe Beef

Joe Beef
Ranked #100 of 5,765 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $20 - $79
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
Cross street: Charlevoix
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A wonderful bistro experience”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Joe Beef is a well known foodie establishment and there are not many tables so snagging a reservation is hard.  The menu and wine list are on a massive blackboard in the small dining room.  We start with roasted quail stuffed with a little spinach and bacon, topped with roasted beets and a maple syrup/beet/ice-wine sauce.   I abhor anything a beet has touch, however I sopped my quail in the beet wine sauce until the plate was clean - awesome.  Next we had a half of a "double Reuben" - A slice of brioche with a piece of foie gras, slice of pastrami and gruyere cheese with a nice mustard sauce around it.  OMG - too bad I had to share it. We finished with a Joe Beef sized steak.  All washed down with a very nice bordeaux

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WandaG_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    150
    95
    41
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a great way to end our Montreal stay!”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was our last night in Montreal, and what a memorable way to end our Montreal vacation. I was lucky to get a reservation and it happened to be on our last night and late(9:30pm). Fortunately, after having fives day of beautiful weather, it was rainy and cold that evening and I was able to move our reservations earlier. We were greeted and directed to our table which was in a quaint area upfront by the window of a closed entrance. It was romantic. We were greeted by Lindsay a very nice and professional server who helped us translate the menu. From the appetizers to dessert, everything was delicious. So good that I bought the restaurants cookbook they have for sell, $40.00 and well worth it. Lindsay did a great job in describing two wines that we ended up drinking both of them(unfortunately, we cannot find it in the states) and thankful for the transit system in Canada enjoyed every minute of it.......Overall, excellent food, service, and grateful for making it a memory.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazelEyes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply the Best.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food is BRILLIANT. The wines are carefully selected and the staff is hilarious but truly very professional. Located in the best neighborhood. Very cool, fun place to drop some serious coin, but worth every penny. These guys are so great at what they do they come off as wankers!!
It's Food Art.
It's divine. I love it, love it, love it.
Don't leave Montreal without eating there.
The music rocks...all over the place.
So unpretentious, it might seem pretentious.
Eat at the bar, talk to people.
You'll want to come back to Montreal just to eat there again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Worth a trip to Montreal just to eat here!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant had been recommended by friends, and we were fortunate to be able to seure a reservation for the 9:30 seating on a Saturday evening! The space itself is a little small and cramped, and it's slightly off the beaten track, but with great, lively atmosphere, if somewhat on the noisy side! But oh, the food as well as the service were amazing! The menu and wine list are on a blackboard, the servers extremely knowledgeable about both the ingredients in the dishes and wine pairings. This was one of those meals that I'll always remember, and would make the journey back to Montreal, a five hour drive from home, just for another chance to dine at Joe Beef! If you're a real foodie, don't miss this one and be sure to book well in advance.

Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A little disappointing...”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Everybody has been raving about this place since it opened and therefore I was really excited to finally try it. The service was friend and the food was very heavy but good. However, I don't feel this restaurant is excellent enough to merit the hype, especially for the price.The Montreal food scene is phenomenal and there is simply much better value out there for the price that Joe Beef including its sister restaurant (Liverpool House) right next door.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Beef also viewed

 

Been to Joe Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing