We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avesta

Avesta
Ranked #1,270 of 5,656 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Family friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stumbled across this gem of an authentic place during a power outage in my Westmount neighbourhood. We walked in off the street in our worn out day clothes and were entertained as soon as we walked in the door. Service was knowledgable and friendly, the restaurant was clean and inviting and the food fresh and affordable. I would highly recommend for kids 5-18 yo and healthy to boot! Spinach, ground beef and eggplant have never tasted so good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Turkish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

I went to this restaurant for the first time, fantastic!! Very cozy, good $, and the
food is the 'real McCoy'.
I shall definitely go back, please try it, you won't be disappointed. The baklava,
a must!!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good authentic Turkish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

I enjoyed the food and the portions were generous. The food was very similar to the types I tried while visiting Istanbul, and the prices were reasonable. We both had chicken stew-type dishes, along with an appetizer meze plate. I would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank modesttraveller30s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice Turkish cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Cute and cozy place to eat with delicious food. They have a great choice of Turkish dishes, teas and desserts.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank agentNadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stuck to the appetizers and the Lentil soup. The appetizers were very nice. I did find the lentil soup thinner than I am used to but that may be a Toronto vs. Monteal thing .... it was still quite tasty

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avesta also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Avesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing