We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambitious food well done. BYOB” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Thym

O'Thym
Ranked #123 of 5,656 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $48
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Village (Gay Village)
Description: Now open for brunch, saturday and sunday, 10 a.m.-2 p.m.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ambitious food well done. BYOB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Informal and modern in design, the small room is dominated by the huge chalkboard menu offering top quality luxury ingredients prepared in fresh and imventive combinations without being fussy. I had scallop ceviche, shared a foie gras with onion tarte and fig followed by striped bass. All were delicious. There were many things on the menu you would expect in a "white tablecloth" place at twice the price. BYOB helps the cost too. My only problem is that the service can be a little scattered. They are all lovely but there was a very long wait for our appetizer and hardly any at all for the main course. The table next to us was seated first, ordered way after us and was served before us. Not a big problem but I can see why others might be bothered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    81
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Gem in the Gay Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant is one block off of Sainte Catherine. It's a BYOB and has great food. The staff is engaging and appreciative. The food is always enjoyable with a twist.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dhuting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
222 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“One of the best....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Last night we met a friend from out of town at O Thym for dinner. We have been here several times and keep going back as it is one of the best b.y.o.b. Restos in Montreal. There is variety on the menu, and the menu is posted on the wall. We started with a cold soup of roasted peppers. Very summery with good flavours. We all decided to have the , in season, salad of fiddleheads, asparagus and beets. Wonderful starter. I have had their smoked salmon tartar before which always seems to be on the menu, for good reason. I always seem to go for the fish and last night I had the special of the day, cod. Absolutely delicious and cooked to perfection. My friend had the salmon with a wonderful smokiness and also perfectly cooked and delicious.
A good thing that we had made reservations beforehand as it was full. Service was excellent. And when the waiter heard my friend's Boston accent he politely asked to bring her an English menu and explained the specials of the day. All the waitstaff were very unobtrusive as they picked up and brought out the plates, bread, water, etc.
The resto has a very modern feel and the tables are not crowded together too much. We love the bring your own wine concept as this allows you to decide what you want to pay for your wine with dinner. This resto is very reasonably priced and the quality of the food excellent. This is the type of little Restos that make Montreal a wonderful place to dine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizzypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“a solid 3.5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The atmosphere is simple and clean. The service is excellent and this is a BYOB. The food is good and well prepared. We tried the poutine and salmon tartar entree. Poutine entree is delicious and the tartar was good but the flavors didn’t quite work together. I think the tartar was missing the something to stand out. The main dish was a steak & duck dish which was perfectly executed. But the sauce in the duck had a hint of "coconut" I think and didn't quite work with the dish. The maple creme caramel was delicious. Quality of the food was good. Overall, good since it seems like the food was "off" a bit (i.e. mixture of flavor), it seem a bit pricier than I would have expected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mtlgal2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Food with Great Vibe, plus BYOB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Loved this little bistro. Modern, bright decor with friendly service and delicious food. Plus, the fact that it's BYOB/W is a huge bonus. You'll be pleasantly surprised when you get the bill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Thym also viewed

 

Been to O'Thym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing