We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not much taste” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aux Vivres

Aux Vivres
Ranked #46 of 5,656 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“not much taste”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was wondering if the food was really organic and it lacked balance in seasoning and knowledge in combination that goes well on palates.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shinybijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    154
    40
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Addictive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

If If you are a vegan you will love it and if you are not you will love it. Nightly specials are usually amazing and everyone has their favourite on the regular menu (Chili, Mekong on Chapati, etc) . Go and discover yours. A bit out of the way if you are downtown, but rent a Bixi bike and pedal up St-Laurent Blvd. Careful busy street! Then you are not too far to go pick up Fairmont bagels - a must!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank iknowwhatsup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent vegan food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We ate here twice and both times were very impressed by the food and drink. If you are vegan or any sort of vegetarian, you will love the food. Wait staff is very friendly and continuously checking to see if you need anything.
I would recommend the pate sandwich and my niece had the BLT (fake bacon) twice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Maybe depends on what you order at this vegan restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are vegetarians and are happy to find vegetarian and vegan restaurants when we travel. I have mixed feelings about this one. My husband had the portobello mushroom burger and french fried potatoes. We both really liked his food. I went with a couple Indian options- the chana wrap and mango lassi drink. They both were just okay. There are a variety of menu options and some might just be better than others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank skupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Its was OK!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The food wasn't that good. It was rated really well on Trip advisor but when i did try it out its just okay. Nothing special.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chakrit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Vivres also viewed

 

Been to Aux Vivres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing