We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just great Smoked Meat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunn's Famous

Dunn's Famous
Ranked #81 of 5,655 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just great Smoked Meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Dunn's is one 3 great "Smoked Meat" Delis in Montreal (& Ottawa). Nice thick deli style sandwhich with mustard, a pickle & slaw. who needs more. One thing: hope the son's don't mess up what daddy built....stay with what works

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    256
    81
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yummy smoked meat sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We always visit here when in Montreal.Sonce Ben' s closed unfortunately a few years ago we discovered this very friendly bistro style restaurant downtown Montreal. The service was great , their fries or as the insiders call it "Patate Frit"(this is in the lovely province of Quebec)are second to none, price reasonable so I encourage you to visit there on Peel street. Ottawa Kolumbus

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ottawakolumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
1 review
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were 8, and we were all satisfied of the quality of our plates. Definately to try! (Awesome Smoed meat!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexia814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
164 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Thank you for opening 24 hours !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Dunns will remain one of my favorites diners in Montreal ! Try the Italian Poutine and their Hot dogs are really good as well. Obvisouly the Smoked meat is amazing and you'll probably get a heart attack walking to your car but at least you'll die VERY happy ;) Thank you for being open even at 4:00am !!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Day or Night decent fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Foods good, has smoked meat, open day and night. Dunn's is well known and provides a clean environnment and good quality food at a decent price. Can't remember if this one is 24 hours but its open late. There is a 24 hours Dunns near downtown Montreal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AltonHarewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunn's Famous also viewed

 

Been to Dunn's Famous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing