We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and loud. Plenty of fries if that's your thing.”

Steak Frites St-Paul
Ranked #2,238 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Large and loud. Plenty of fries if that's your thing.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Food was pretty good. Big portions, couldn't finish either the burger or fries. Price was about what you would expect. Service left to be desired and the place wasn't crowded when I went.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbird1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    114
    62
    32
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good but be aware....”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a large, loud, raucous sort of place-- we were served on the 2d floor, which sounded like a crowded bus station by the end of the evening.

The menu is very straight ahead-- steak, duck, fish, maybe some chicken and fries--- all you can eat of the fries, keep it coming. Also, this is a BYOB place so bring some wine to add to the fun if you are so inclined.

Everything here was good--- event the veggies we ordered were well cooked and not all all water logged. The service was a bit "vague"--- as in, we don't know where our waiter is, exactly--- but it all worked out.

The overall feel here on a Saturday night is of a noisy, somewhat chaotic family party with a few tipsy relatives all talking at the same time. The food is quite good-- not great but quite serviceable--- and if you aren't put off by the chaos/noise, you will nave a great evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, small menu, crappy service”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Food was pretty good, first day with new spring menu. Service was absolutely the worst I had ever experienced. Would never go back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bang for the buck”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Loved the fries... who wouldn't. This place is very generous with the fries and the steak was good too.. not cheap but overall easy and simple presentation. Au poive sauce was a little wanting but no major complaints... wait staff didn't seem to know what was going on but really need to improve that portion. Otherwise a nice night out.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Place For A Large Group”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We made a reservation at steak frites this past Saturday night for my bachelor party on a recommendation. We were all pleasantly surprised. The restaurant is inside what looks like some kind of castle or bastion. The interior is very pleasant and there is more than enough room to accommodate large parties. I will say they did make a mistake and brought me out the wrong order. It took about 15 minutes to fix and they brought me out a very overdone steak. Besides that, I would recommend this place for a large group.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mroth14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak Frites St-Paul also viewed

 

Been to Steak Frites St-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing