We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frites”

Steak Frites St-Paul
Ranked #2,322 of 5,769 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Frites”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Had a great dinner with our children. The service was really great and the atmosphere pretty cool in the old building. The steaks were fine, but the fries were a real hit. Nice to have a good quality bring your own wine restaurant in such a busy location.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    113
    62
    32
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I loved this place, though my steak was a tad bit overcooked, if I'm being picky. The fries are delicious, and even if steak isn't your thing there is an expansive menu so you should be able to find something. Ambiance was nice as well. It's BYOB with no corking fee, so save yourself a few bucks and bring a few beers or a bottle of wine from home!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Steak Frites sauce to die for”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

great steak. When you add there house sauce it makes it fantastic. a little pricey but in a tourist area so to be expected. does have that French bisto feel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Steak should have been better”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

With a name like Steak and Frites , I had high expectations to the steak. It was Ok but not excellent. Service was good and waiters very friendly. We were a group sitting upstairs together with some other groups. The place became very noicy and it was difficult to have a conversation across the table. So if you look for a peaceful romantic place for a good meal this is not the place. It could be that sitting downstairs is better for couples but i do not know.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Safari1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food, charming atmosphere, family-friendly”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We happened upon the Steak Frites St-Paul restaurant almost by accident as we walked around Vieux Montreal (Old Town). We had been looking for a family-friendly, sit-down restaurant and had not found many in that area. Most were gastropubs, Starbucks-style coffee-and-sandwich-to-go places, or very high end, fine dining establishments that were inappropriate for children.

Steak Frites St-Paul has a warm and lively atmosphere that is rustic, charming, but also hip. There is an enormous menu including many small plate dishes, which are written on large chalkboards around the room. We tried the signature Steak Frites dish, along with mushrooms, duck, lamb, and several other dishes. All were fresh and delicious, lovingly prepared, and actually quite generous for small plates. Two in our party had regular entrees, and two of us shared several small plates. Everything was delicious.

Our waiter, completely bilingual in English and French, was charming, friendly, and very knowledgeable. He made us feel very welcome (even with 10-month-old baby in tow!) and was attentive and helpful. Had we been in Montreal longer, we would certainly have returned to Steak Frites St-Paul.

The restaurant (on Rue St-Laurent near the river) is a bit hard to spot, so look for the sign and menu displayed outside what looks like the wall of a very large old building or fortress. Inside, you'll find a warm, delightful, and wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lornwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak Frites St-Paul also viewed

 

Been to Steak Frites St-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing