We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak”

Steak Frites St-Paul
Ranked #2,382 of 5,778 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice casual friday night dinner. We were with a local who suggested we come here for a relaxed dinner & good steak

Service was good. Only issue was our order was lost and we waited almost a hr for our main meals which was not ideal. The servers were very apologetic but waiting such a lengthy period of time was way too long. However, we weren't too concerned as we were enjoying drinking our wine.

Calamari was good but overpriced for portion size. Fillet mignon was excellent, cooked to perfection. Possibly one of the best cooked steaks I've ever had. It's BYO too which is great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bristraveller3870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    113
    62
    32
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ozark, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent from bread to profiteroles”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Fantastic food with reasonable prices. Steak great and can bring own beer. The profiteroles are the best I ever had a great dessert option.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hadlee34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I liked the convenience and the service. Food was excellent with the seafood platter that I would expect from such a restaurant. Will definitely try an evening meal in the restaurant. The only downside was that no alcoholic drinks were served at lunch time

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bensil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went few other places of Steak an d Frites but always good :)
Nice staff and tasty :)
on the table you can see some water to sell bu you cam take regular water by the way ;)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MegMeg1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sub-par food, rushed, overcharged and severely unsatisfied.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

In all honesty I would never be one to put a "hate on" for a restaurant, or even bother to write a review for that matter. But despite having an awful experience tonight, I wasn't going to until I actually looked at my bill. I'm a Montreal local and a waitress/bartender. I've been to all three locations of "steak frites" a few times, although not my "favourite" I've always enjoyed my experience. Being Four industry people, we were highly insulted with the service of the restaurant, not necessarily our waiter, he wasn't great, but it wasn't entirely his fault. We were told we had to order immediately because the kitchen was closing in 30 minutes, that was fine--no problem. The problem came when our food was literally SLAMMED in front of our faces we all rushed to eat. My plate of mushrooms as my side for my steak came 20 minutes before my steak. Our steaks finally arrived when we overheard the waiter frantically asking a kitchen worked AS HE WAS LEAVING if they were even making our food.

Our steaks arrived, ALL of which were undercooked severely. No one came by to ask if our food was ok until we were finished our meals. We were a little afraid to even ask for a coffee at the end of a meal they were rushing us so bad. We paid the bill-- and because we are used to spending a decent amount on steaks for two we didn't mind the 94.00 bill. Until later we realized, it was bring your own wine and we werent paying for our alcohol. They had overcharged us 36.00 for a filet mignon. By this time we had already left and didn't even bother to return.

All in all, unfortunately after this terribly negative rant, I would never recommend giving your money to this establishment, it's seems clear that when you've established a franchise in downtown Montreal, they don't really care about customer service anymore.

It's too bad, could've been great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak Frites St-Paul also viewed

 

Been to Steak Frites St-Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing