We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent French Food”
Review of Bonaparte

Bonaparte
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 12/1
8:00 PM
Ranked #27 of 5,879 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: Notre-Dame
Transit: Station de metro Place d'Armes Place D'Armers Metro station
Description: Four star French classic restaurant located in Old Montreal.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Whether one ordered fish, meat, or vegetarian, the food was well prepared and beautifully presented. Wine selection was varied and adequate. Service was outstanding. Don't pass on the deserts. The meals of our party of six was enjoyed by all.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Travelfan527
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssicoli2016, Owner at Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2016

Yes, don't pass on the deserts! The key-lime pie is done from scratch (as well as our other deserts) and are great even if you're not hungry anymore!!!!! Glad you enjoyed the meal and we look forward to having you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 883 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Sophisticated decor and service. Perfectly made cocktails, wine by 500ml carafe available if you don't want a full bottle. Well executed dishes. Would have loved to try the tasting menu but did not have the time.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank brilleliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssicoli2016, Owner at Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

The tasting menu is amazing....come back and see us and have that next time...well worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Ivan, our concierge at the Hyatt, sent us to Bonaparte for a great dinner. Martha started with a tasty scallop and shrimp dish (C$17) and had a beef tartare with crispy fires as her main course - wonderful (C$28.50). I had the Table d'Hote, a three course meal with several choices for the ap, main, and dessert course (C$40). I started with a game terrine, moved on to a hanger steak, and ended with chocolate mousse. All good, but the photos were made with a phone are not so good.

We had a bottle of Chambolle-Musigny at C$140. That's about $100 US and the tax exacted by the government is a hefty bit of the starting price. The restaurant probably doubles or triples the price as it makes up the wine list. In our case, the wine was about 70% of our total bill.

The bill adds 5% TPS (federal tax) and 10% TVQ (provincial tax). The C$ is in the tank, requiring C$ 1.3 for a greenback. When you add a tip on top of the taxes, the final price you pay in US$ will be a bit more than the menu price in C$.

It's not any more than our usual expenditure for a meal of this quality in a lovely dining room with good service, so go and have a great time.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fred5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssicoli2016, Owner at Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

I guess your US dollar makes up for the unusually high Quebec taxes....that's a good thing. More importantly, you enjoyed your experience regardless of the more than usual expense....you gotta spoil yourself sometimes....glad you decided to do it with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

At 1740, we sought out a cab to Bonaparte Restaurant. Rather than calling us a cab, one of the hotel bellman drove us to the restaurant. Though the dinner bill was prepaid, we had already decided we would enhance our experience with wine and informed our waiter that we would be relying on his expertise in selecting the right glass for each course. We both had the homemade venison terrine with condiments and a glass of Analepse (13). Lyd followed with the Beef Hanger Steak with a Cognac and five pepper corn sauce and glasses of Nebbiolo (15). I had the Lamb Shank with Smoked Bacon and glasses of Nebbiolo. For dessert, Lyd chose an Irish Coffee (12) and I had Crème Brulee (4.50) and a glass of Toques Ice Wine (19).
The restaurant was selected by Fresh Tracks Canada, the company with whom we had booked the trip through Quebec. It was excellent.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RetiredAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssicoli2016, Owner at Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

What a great idea you had to enhance your experience. Great description of your selection and ou chose well. Thanks to Fresh Tracks for choosing us and thanks to you for sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

I chose this to celebrate our anniversary. It is located on the ground floor of a hotel. There are 2 good size rooms and a very European style bar. The restaurant is elegant and the service excellent. This ranks among the top 5 meals I ever had and this includes Europe and most of the big U.S. cities. Service is classic European. The wine list is extensive and priced up to over $7,000. The ravioli are to die for. My duck was perfectly prepared and my wife had an excellent filet mignon. It is expensive but great for that special event.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Bphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ssicoli2016, Owner at Bonaparte, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2016

First of all....HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! I'm glad you decided to celebrate with us and to know that we participated in this happy event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaparte also viewed

 

Been to Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.