We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant french dining”
Review of Bonaparte

Bonaparte
Reserve with OpenTable
Bonaparte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 5,769 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $48
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: Notre-Dame
Transit: Station de metro Place d'Armes Place D'Armers Metro station
Description: Four star French classic restaurant located in Old Montreal.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Elegant french dining”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The restaurant sometimes is crowded on the weekends. We ate at the bar and ordered off the same menu.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,016
    371
    85
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bonaparte conquers my heart!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

True old school French cuisine with wonderful educated waitpeople in a beautiful atmosphere. Our third time eating there and as always a joyful experience. Wonderful, pate, moules, roasted loin of pork, and all the great traditional French bistro favorites. Great wines, priced fairly and an excellent staff that makes you know they are proud of what they do and serve.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank redtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Elegant fine dining compromised by slow service”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Sept 26
This gala dinner would be our last one together before departure home. We were shown a single, 12 seat table set beautifully. The resto is small and filled quickly even though it was a weekday night. We recognized another group who were guests on the same cruise ship.
Separate checks was no problem. Ordering was not a problem either. I believe their most popular menu du jour option is $30 Cdn/pp, which for me included venison terrine, pork tenderloin which was tenderly divine, and lime meringue pie. For 2, the total was an astonishingly $80 + tip. In a tourist area as Old MTL, the restos can and do exploit the tourists, but Bonaparte apparently has the formula for keeping its dining rooms filled and productive.
The only niggle was slow service, but since it was our last night together, it wasn't a big deal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A nice french restaurant”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a very nice dinner at this lovely french bistro in old Montreal. We decided to go with the three course menu for 34.95, pp. They even let us substitute the french onion soup in place of other options. The meal time is very french, with long waits to enjoy your wine in between courses. So be prepared to enjoy the experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our Fantastic 6 course French Dinner at Bonaparte.
Definitely recommend a reservation. It was a real treat. Will definitely return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linniemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonaparte also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing