We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, a lovely hostess and a good effort.”
Review of Alexandre et Fils

Alexandre et Fils
Ranked #1,047 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Germantown, TN
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, a lovely hostess and a good effort.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This restaurant certainly makes a great attempt at imitating a Paris restaurant but really doesn't quite get there, like most of Montreal. I found on my recent trip to Montreal that locals there perhaps aren't so much trying to be Parisian as they are themselves, simply and fiercely French Canadian. However, I think this place was trying to be something it did not reach. The hostess and several of the wait staff were very easy on the eyes; a prerequisite must be that you must be alluring in a tight black dress. Ok, mission accomplished. The service by our primary waiter was very good and professional. The croque monsieur was simply a plain ham and cheese with tomato, cheese on the outside and baked. Granted, it's meant to be simple, but it had nothing to it, certainly nothing warranting the price paid. A good effort, but no thanks. I guess that also sums up my review of Montreal itself as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrasierC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    94
    59
    55
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“fast and furious like a busy restaurant in Paris”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We walked Peel street reading menus and found Alexandre had something for everyone.
A bit rushed (they were) as there was an office party of about two dozen near by, but our orders were delivered promptly.
Two dinners of prawns and scallops on risotto, and one dinner of superb cassoulet (as recommended by the waiter), three glasses of wine came to $129 CAD.
I would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ed3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A touch of Paris”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We love this place, we have at least one meal here whenever we're in Montreal. We've been to Paris numerous times, the decor, menu an atmosphere are all reminiscent of being at a sidewalk cafe there. It is rustic French cuisine, and they do it very well. For those of you looking for high ceilings and large tables, this isn't the place for you, there are several chain restaurants in the suburb malls. If on the other hand you want to experience a touch of Paris, indulge yourselves, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankandJane_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our server was excellent. The Chorchonde de Mer was very good.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Fun to people watch but very small tables (which does remind me of Paris). The French bread was excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Tourist trap (I guess)”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Yesterday, my parents wanted to try a real French brasserie in Montréal. What a disappointment! First of all, the restaurant style is really tacky and the ceilings quite low, you feel sort of squeezed. Then the menu is very long with all sorts of items (fish, steacks, sandwiches, grilled cheese you name it) which makes you believe there's no real orientation to their cuisine. We asked for some Kirs for the aperitif and there were ice cubes in them! Then I saw a customer struggling with the bones in her fish. All our dishes were not even average (steaks with fat, dry mussels etc), portions were small, and the prices are expensive (350$ for 6 !!). I suppose because it's in the centre, they serve tourists who won't complaint. In any case, we won't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence_Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandre et Fils also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Alexandre et Fils? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing