We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd”
Review of Alexandre et Fils

Alexandre et Fils
Ranked #1,047 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Baddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The worst restaurant to visit in montreal!! Bad service ( the waitress would ask for more tip)!! bad food ( they don't know what medium rare steak would look like)!! the portion of the food is toooooo small in comparison with the price!! I don't recommend anyone to visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    94
    59
    55
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The ups and down of Alexandre et Fils”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The ups and down of Alexandre & fils
We had our first experience of the 2013 Montreal Food Festival at Alexandre with invited chef Pablo Massey of La Panaderia de Pablo in Buenos Aires.
Our first deception came when we were told the chef had just arrived from Bs As and could not offer the complete menu that was intended. Only two of the about dozen specialty items could be ordered. So we ordered both from the regular and from the specialty menu.
I had onion soup at bout $14 from the regular menu and the Bs As chef specialty of cabillaud (a fancy word for cod) with a cream of corn (tipical of latin American cuisine). My friend ordered the same cabillaud with an entrée of Salmon-Tartare about $25) . My friend ordered a glass of Chablis and I ordered some Alsacian wine at about $12-15 each.
My onion soup was superb with a mounted lava of tasty Gruyère cheese. The salmon tartare was average and the fish was near to sublime because of the generosity of truffle oil mixed with the juices of the fish. Size, which is very important with me, was about correct, not overly generous except for the truffle oil. For dessert, The crème caramel had an industrial quality with a caramel that lacked the proper burnt quality it should possess.
The restaurant is very busy with men and women dressed in suits; the sound level was almost unbearable after 90 minutes at the table. My ears were hurting it was so loud which probably means the noise level was close to 90 or 100 decibels which is the most decibels human tolerance is for noise, which means the has an acoustic problem not produced by the background music that was very low.
The washroom had a bad smell of stalled urea. It is not conceivable that men’s washrooms do not get cleaned every day, early in the morning.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RuyBlasHugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Convenient location to the downtown area, but it was poor service for a very expensive bill. 2 beers, sandwich and ceasar salad resulted in a $67.00 bill The sign says "Pub", but it does not have pub prices. Was not at all happy with this resteraunt.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced drinks”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food and ambiance are great but the beer, wine and alcohol is grostly overpriced. Not worth a visit unless you just want to eat and drink water! We paid $9.50 for a Quebec brewery beer and $12.00 for a glass of Cdn wine! Alexandre should go back to Paris or adjust his prices for the Cdn market. The duck terrine and cod fish were delightful. Happy with the food but disappointed with the cost of our drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Armand59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Disappointing dinner experience.
I order the bone marrow and was surprised to see that they were oven cooked instead than steamed as they do at l'Express. Makes them very greasy, I know it's a fat dish but......
Our cote de boeuf for two was disappointing, not well aged and overcooked. I was also surprised to be charged for an additional small bowl of French fries when one pays almost $40.00 per person for the cote de boeuf. Much lesser quality of meat than le Queue de Cheval.
There are so many alternatives in Montreal as far French brasseries are concerned.
Too bad.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaumeleconqueran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alexandre et Fils also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Alexandre et Fils? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing