We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the taste of Italy”
Review of Via Roma - CLOSED

Via Roma
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good but not the taste of Italy”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had the veal parmesan with vegetables and potatoes with an entry of pasta.It was not bad but not the best of the Italian food, my friend mother cooks better, I wont go back to that place. We did have good service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvie-chouchoune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    12
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awfull service - basic food- dont go there !”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Hi,

just went to this restaurant last friday for a B-day party. Been there already in the past years for business lunch and was happy to go back but this time, I will never go back.
This is the only restaurant in montreal and maybe in north america where you can't have separated invoices. She refuses to do it and was very upset when we insist to have them separated !
I think it is the owner and she is just crazy. All the servers had take on a paper what we had but it was too hard for her to separate and she was asking for tips for them but we never even have for example a glass of water.
I dont know how is she going to manage this next week at the GPF1. This place is going to die if they don't change and that's the only thing they deserve !
Food is really basic, there is way better food in little italy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JejMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible experience due to worst service ever!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The service was completely disorganized and rude. The food is not worth the aggravation of their really bad customer service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Customer111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect for familly or business meeting...”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Went there during march break with the kids, they love italian food. The service and food was awesome, we really enjoy our time, and we'll be back again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cornio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ok food, ok serivce”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We went to Via Roma with a large group of work colleagues and were the only people in the restaurant. The service was good, our server helped us interpret the menu and offered recommendations. Food was just ok, nothing spectacular. I would recommend if you are in the area and not too picky.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank LifeOfTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Roma also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing