We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but a bit disappointed with my entree” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Autre Version - CLOSED

L'Autre Version
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Transit: metro Champs-de-Mars
Description: The restaurant L'Autre Version, a pleasure bistronomic in the heart of Old-Montreal, where the discovery and innovation leads you toward an experiment ... Montreal style. Express Breakfast and lunch monday to friday Homemade products or international import products shop open for everyone 7/7 Terrace - events Takeaway service or fresh products to go
Level Contributor
104 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good but a bit disappointed with my entree”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you like food with a modern flair this is the place for you. The dishes come deconstructed on your plate and you mix together the morsels to achieve the full flavor. The amuse bouche of chopped salmon and caviar was very good (but had to mix the flavors up). The quail appetizer was very good, and mixed together with a berry jam (gooseberry?) and other flavors on the plate. What was disappointing was the lamb dish - the loin was overcooked. But the component of chopped lamb in the fried wonton (?) was very good, but a bit heavy. The service was great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank almost406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    62
    16
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stumbled on this place while search for dinner in old Montreal with a local friend. He hadn't been before but will return. Great wine list, big enough menu that nearly all will find something to enjoy, excellent bilingual service and great presentation. On a nice evening the rear courtyard is great, you'll think you are in Europe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdjwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Great Ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Old Montreal is hard to beat. L'Autre Version is a great little restaurant with that typical charm. The food is predictably excellent. Plus they offer beers from the microbrewer, Le Diable. The others in our party had wine, and there are many to choose from, naturally. There is an outdoor courtyard, which looks very pleasant, however the weather was not our friend on that occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunterboeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level Contributor
177 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Wow great spot!! Must come back...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Found this on TA App for the iPhone while partner was driving through downtown to a destination on the Northeast side of the city. Rated very well and when we got there we immediately felt like this was going to be a great restaurant, decor was very cool a mix of the nouveau and the old original architecture and brick of the building. Looked like it had a cool outdoor seating available as well. To the food >> The bread plate came with 4 condiments, balsamic, light olive oil, Kosher salt, and an awesome red pepper / humus spread. The amuse-bouche was a piece of Canadian bacon topped with diced olives and capers, really good start for the tongue. Had a very fresh greens salad with shaved Parmigiano-Reggiano. I had the Tilapia and Scallops entree and the plate was a work of art, flavors were incredible. The only item I could say needed to be improved was the temperature of the entree; mine was not as hot as I like it to be... Overall a great spot and I really enjoyed the experience! Will definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FEOHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Try the Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had the Tasting Menu, and it was well worth the steep price. There were about 8 courses, and each (except one) came with a matched wine. The food was excellent - small portions of octopus, scallops, duck breast, buffalo and more. The highlight was a very small but amazing foie gras. The service was fantastic - our waiter clearly had a passion for the food and wine he was serving, and he transmitted this passion to us.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Autre Version also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing