We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Open Monday lunchtimes!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Autre Version - CLOSED

L'Autre Version
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Transit: metro Champs-de-Mars
Description: The restaurant L'Autre Version, a pleasure bistronomic in the heart of Old-Montreal, where the discovery and innovation leads you toward an experiment ... Montreal style. Express Breakfast and lunch monday to friday Homemade products or international import products shop open for everyone 7/7 Terrace - events Takeaway service or fresh products to go
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Open Monday lunchtimes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

One of the few decent restaurants open on a Monday lunchtime. The two course table d'hote is excellent value, with an imaginative ever-changing menu. Less convinced by the puddings. But overall a delightfully well run , efficient and pleasant eating place in the Old Town.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewjameswarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    62
    16
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite disapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We attended this restaurant on March 2nd 2013. We were very disapointed with the quality and quantity of the food. To be honest the entrée of Octopus was excellent and the entrée of beets and goat cheese was quite good. The main dish of beef was returned by 2 of our group as it was dry and overcooked. To their credit they brought back another plate of beef less cooked and tasty but very small portions and provided us with another, very small, entrée of terrine which was not very tasty. For the main course I had 4 scallops sauteed in oil that were slightly dry with half of a bokchoi for 36$. The dessert of cheese cake was good but the portions were infinitely small. The meal for two cost 185.00$ without tip. Way too expensive for the amount of food receied. Montrealers are foodies and this place does not meet our standards.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frances G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxton Pond, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Lovely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We loved the place, people were very nice and we had a good service. The food was delicious and we have taken the wine pairing, witch complete very well the supper. We were absolutely amazed. For people who loves foie Gras, there Seared foie Gras, sweet potato and cardamom cake, almond and caramelized onion purée, sea-buckthorn berry jam is a real culinary delight. It was a wonderful experience.
The only thing I suggest is to put more information about the wine selection on the web site.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Imaginative menu, superb execution, great wine list, great location ... L'Autre Version is my favorite place to take people, whether with personal friends or business visitors, to showcase modern Montreal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank garydpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing, interesting food...culinary delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve here, and had the most amazing 8-course dinner with excellent service. Unlike many tasting menus, this one was inventive, substantial and delicious. The chef uses very interesting ingredients that we hadn't heard of before (ps. we live in New York City and love the restaurant scene, so consider ourselves well-versed) like different types of berries that all paired well with main components like duck, venison, and brie flan. Lots of flavors and textures. We looked at the regular menu and decided we would definitely return next visit. Price was actually quite reasonable given the portions and high quality of the food and creativity of the chef. A final note...our servers were wonderful and seemed to be enjoying the evening as well. We all watched the fireworks together from the window overlooking the river. Perfect in every way!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Autre Version also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing