We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“unique food adventure. impecable service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Autre Version - CLOSED

L'Autre Version
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Gastropub, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Transit: metro Champs-de-Mars
Description: The restaurant L'Autre Version, a pleasure bistronomic in the heart of Old-Montreal, where the discovery and innovation leads you toward an experiment ... Montreal style. Express Breakfast and lunch monday to friday Homemade products or international import products shop open for everyone 7/7 Terrace - events Takeaway service or fresh products to go
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“unique food adventure. impecable service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

After going there last night to celebrate my girlfriends' birthday I have to say that it was a amazing experience. Benoit - one of the owners of the place - is a walking culinary encyclopedia and clearly very passionate about the art of food - and very friendly!. The service was impeccable and the food was excellent as well. It isn't cheap but worth every penny. It's worth going for the culinary adventure with the full set of meals. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danylophoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    62
    16
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious, for those that have broad palates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Saturday evening reservation for 8:30 for two, no problem at all.

Really enjoyed the ambience here. Service was prompt and you were welcome to linger over your meal and enjoy it, instead of being rushed.

The menu items for that particular night were (starting with an amuse bouch of a popcorn-style take on sweetbread) a mushroom medely of oyster and chantrelles with a sweetpea mash, and a surf and turf with large shrimp and sweetbread (sweetbread is great if you like its texture). We also had a filet mignon that was very nice and cooked to a medium rare perfection.

The place has a large wine list with a good bottle selection under $40.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wineaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Food is great but pricey and not friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

The food is great. The problem is the waiters serving you as if they smelled something bad when they approach you. Also the best restaurants in Montreal are "tourist friendly" but this is not. Me and my wife had a much better time at Quattro and Joe's beef.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vianna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor service, food toooooo salty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We ate here because it was highly rated on Tripadvisor. There were at least 5 waiters working the restaurant and none of them had their act together other than the bartender. We were shown to our table by the bartender who took our drink order. That went well except he did not give us any menus. Finally a waiter came over and asked if we were ready to order and we had to tell him that we had not yet seen a menu. He then brought a menu but did not stop to explain the specials. Then a different server came over and described the specials and then left again. The amuse bouche was a beef tartar. The bread came with olive oil, balsamic vinegar, sea-salt and tomato tapenade. Then yet another waiter came over to take our orders. I had the swordfish with calamari. My spouse had the special, the guinea fowl. My meal was cooked to perfection and I am sure it would have been great but I literally could not eat it because it was so salty. I had to drink a lot of water between each bite to be able to eat any of it. I gave up halfway through as I could eat no more salt. My spouse’s meal was equally salty and unfortunately rubbery. When we had stopped eating for some time, yet another waiter came over to ask how everything was. I told him I could not eat my meal due to the amount of salt. Neither of us had eaten half of our meals. The waiter said he would tell someone but no one came over to apologize or to try to make amends. We drank all of our water trying to eat our meal and no one came to replace it until we had stopped eating. The bill was in excess of $150 for the two of us with a basic tip and it was money poorly spent. If you see a good review of this restaurant on Tripadvisor, ignore it. Your health is not worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PanaramaRidgeCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Take the Original”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The ambience was ok, but from the beginning the service was sketchy...too many servers trying to provide less than proper service for a restaurant of this repute and pay scale. We end up asking for a dinner menu after having received only a wine menu upon arrival.
Our cocktails were good.
For dinner we ordered salad and main course. The bocconcini salad had some flavorful elements, but little cheese. The mains we ordered were both over-salted beyond what anyone could appreciate.
When we left, there was no one at the door to bid us au'revoir...very non-user-friendly...sad...Not to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Autre Version also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing