We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Good choices”

Vargas Steakhouse & Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Vargas Steakhouse & Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #249 of 5,818 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $55
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Description: We are located in the heart of downtown Montreal at the corner of University and Rene Levesque streets. We are steps away from the Queen Elizabeth hotel and a short distance from most downtown hotels. We offer delicious Angus steaks, fresh seafoood, and a terrific sushi bar.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food. Good choices”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The menu was varied and the addition of sushi was delightful. Prices were a bit high, but quality was good also

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    115
    49
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse in Downtown Montreal”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Right around the corner from the Marriott Chateau Champlain and the Hilton is this wonderful steakhouse. My friend had the steak which she said was perfect and I had the fish which was wonderful as well. The food came out quickly and was the right temperature. The waitstaff was attentive, the only thing we needed to ask for was the check.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbird1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dining in Montreal”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Strongly recommended, great choice of food of excellent food on top of very friendly and professional service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HalfMoonBay26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I am late writing this review. My boyfriend and I were visiting Montreal during the last week of December 2013 (right after Christmas). He selected this restaurant to celebrate a special milestone birthday of mine and made reservations ahead of time. It was a wonderful choice because the food and service were excellent (PASCAL was our waiter and he was really congenial and attentive). The prime rib and steak was great along with the other food items. The decor and restaurant ambiance were lovely and modern and all the staff were friendly. The restaurant staff and other people dining sang Happy Birthday to me when Pascal brought out the piece of cake with a sparkler lit on top of it. It was an extra-special occasion due to the wonderful experience we had at Vargas.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady4Evermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, Newfoundland, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Grilled exactly as ordered”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stopped by with no reservation before a hockey game. We were seated right away and received attentive, professional service throughout our meal. Onion soup was a bit bland for my taste, but the steaks were of high quality and were grilled perfectly which is what really matters at a steakhouse.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vargas Steakhouse & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing