We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Good Service”

Restaurant Thailande
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Thailande is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #810 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: St-Urbain
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Restaurant Thailand is located in 'Mile End' - an area that is being gentrified. The establishment has two types of seating areas - traditional (sit on the floor against back rests .) and standard (tables and chairs).
The waiters, dressed in black, know all the subtleties of the menu, and are adept at explaining it. The soups, as well as the main courses, list the "add-ons" (beef, chicken, pork, shrimp, vegetables, etc.) These add-ons are , well, added in to the various types of dishes (e.g. green curry - just add chicken). All mains come with steamed rice or sticky rice
Main dishes are about $13 - $16, entrees are about $4 -$8. There is offered small selection of desserts. The place is very clean and fully wheel-chair accessible. There is a lot of street parking.
Some dishes are listed as "1 pepper or 2 peppers". The one pepper rating will not upset most average diners.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top Quality Thai Resto”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This Thai resto has been on our list of regulars for years. Excellent food, service a little slow when very busy, no reservation problem as they have expanded into the adjacent building. The mango salad, their ravioli with a peanut sauce and the seafood "marmite" are amongst our favorites. Mention only one "spice" level (you can go up to three) unless you enjoy eating with a fire in your mouth!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JP3786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai fare.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Delicious food, pleasant and efficient service. The Table d'hôte is your best bet. Wine very reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvdh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My fiancee and her family brought me to this restaurant last weekend. When she told me that we'd be going for Thai food, I became very nervous because I'm deathly allergic to peanuts. As you all know, Thai food is infamous for the liberal use of peanut sauce and the like, so I worried. We got to the restaurant though, and informed the waitstaff of my problem. They were FANTASTIC about accommodating me and making sure I'd be safe. The vast majority of the dishes on the menu were actually safe for me to eat, but we had to make sure that nothing got cross-contaminated in the kitchen, and the staff here really went above and beyond to ensure this. The food was great too, although I did discover that I don't like lemongrass, and that Thai curry is different than other curries that I'm used to, and I wasn't in love with it. I had the duck, and it was wonderful, as well as a few of the soups. We were a large group, and everybody was happy with their food. It was, however, very expensive. Honestly, I'd never seen a restaurant bill that high. That said, I'd recommend this place for the most special of occasions, and I'd recommend it for a nut-allergic person who needs to be sure that they'll be eating Thai food in a safe and attentive environment.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Endless wait....not worth waiting for!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I decided to return to this restaurant, which I had reviewed almost a year ago. The food has bern reasonable but the wait has been endless. I still stand for I wrote before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amphiraion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Thailande also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Thailande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing