We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst of everything”
Review of Solmar

Solmar
Reserve with OpenTable
Solmar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,049 of 5,769 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $12 - $28
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst of everything”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The restaurant was dead on a Saturday night yet our food was cold!!! The service was terrible the waiter was rude ... One of the plates we order was supposed to come with mushrooms but the cook forgot to put them and when we asked for them they brought a mushroom sauce and they added it on the plate although the meat had already a wine sauce so the taste was a disgusting blend of wine sauce and a graving like sauce of mushrooms... Disgusting!!!!
What is more, this restaurant is excessively expensive for the food they serve and the service they provide !!!
Last but not least there are no DOORS in the bathroom!! The toilets have cheap yellow curtains instead of doors so everybody that is in the bathroom can see and hear everything u do !!!
Do Not Go to that restaurant it's awful!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blacklist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    23
    13
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vald'or
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Off of my list”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Old style service but the best part.
Food was very ordinary, too expensive for the price
Since I have to write at least 100 characters I will add that we will not return

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Interest009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ealing
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent service combined with tasty food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I ate here on a Friday night early August. Service very attentive and helpful. Excellent selection of Portuguese wine. Great selection of bread, very tasty cod mains and good deserts. Good number of other diners. Music at about the right level. We would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WPKATZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Portuguese food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

After reading the critics of the restaurant on the app, we decided with my family (5) to go there. We enjoyed very much the fish and the meat! In a word, a really good moment in family!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent food and service, but fado volume needs monitoring”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our group of seven enjoyed their meal thoroughly, and any questions we had about food or port were answered with excellent recomendations. Our group members' arrival was poorly synchronized, but we were treated just as attentively as if we had been on time. The atmosphere was only spoiled temporarily by the first singing and musical performance who relied on sound amplification far too powerful for the modest size of the room. The female performer who followed with fado numbers was more bearable (or she noticed and ajusted the outrageous volume). I recommend it, but would warn friends that they won't be able to ignore the fado.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montreal_Cat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solmar also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Solmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing