We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should know what to order”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sho-Dan

Sho-Dan
Ranked #232 of 5,668 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
516 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Should know what to order”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I'm writing this review after the second time I've been here. First time was Excellent! A friend ordered and he goes regularly, so I guess he knew what to choose, it was all great.

I returned and it was average. Took the red tuna sashimi which the waiter swore by - which I found very average - had an okay sushi pizza, regular unagi, and average 2 or 3 other rolls. I've definitely had much better for far less. Maybe because it was 9:30PM? But fresh ingredients should always be available especially at a Japanese restaurant downtown on a Saturday night! Service was very good, friendly and helpful staff. Likely to only return with friend who knows what to order. Going with the better review which is "very good" but if it was based on second visit it would be "Average"

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    99
    32
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brossard
1 review
“Great sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

One of the best sushi place out there. The specialty sushis are really awesome.
They are both original and tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“High prices do not reflect good food - hugely disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

One always hopes that forking out brow-raising amounts of cash will naturally equate to good food. This is definitely not the case at Shodan. The sushi is good - but nothing more than that. At $19 for 6 pieces of sushi, I'm expecting to be blown away, not left with that feeling of "I just paid how much for that??"

The The restaurant appears "fancy" in that they have some different twists on traditional sushi. Great, but I've had much better alternatives where I didn't feel like I was being ripped off. I like to think anyone who has a good palate for sushi would be able to see that there's nothing genuinely "gourmet" about this place.

I had the Adam which has apples and shrimp tempura with soybean paper (which is 100% tasteless). It was okay. My husband ordered the $24 teriyaki chicken which was an absolute overpriced disappointment. And we all know food disappointment is the worst kind!

Having spent 6 weeks in Japan and eaten no doubts hundreds of sushi in my lifetime, this place is a flop. I live in Sydney and have been to nicer sushi restaurants with tastier food for a fraction of the price. Surely there are less ludicrously priced options out there. I think something about the weird options and the chef's flexibility to customize rolls makes people feel special, so perhaps that is what has people returning.

My advice: don't fall for it - for the price, this place is a trap.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thriftynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Even the non-sushi lovers will love it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I am not a big fan of sashimi/sushi or of fish in general but I honestly love this restaurant. I do enjoy maki rolls, however Sho-Dan will serve you more than your typical take-out sushi. They have a huge list of specialty items similar to maki rolls, but mostly made with soya paper. What you get on your plate is literally a work of art that tastes just as good as it looks. Yes, it's a little on the pricey side but we've been there twice now and each time we leave knowing that you get your money's worth - maybe not so much in quantity but definitely in quality. Very clean, white tablecloth-covered tables in a modern environment a few streets up from Ste-Catherines...away from the hustle of the downtown crowds.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“White tablecloths”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Not your ordinary minimalist Japanese restaurant. Posh, lovely room. White tablecloths, quiet, low lighting, sushi bar, comfortable. Excellent service, generous servings, knowledgeable chefs. Expensive, but what sushi restaurant isn't?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sho-Dan also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Sho-Dan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing