We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of a dying Montreal food”
Review of Schwartz's

Schwartz's
Ranked #176 of 6,524 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Jewish Quarter
Reviewed May 27, 2018

A dying genre this most unique of Montreal's delis. If you still eat meat the sandwiches are a must, especially on a summer's day.
It has become a bit touristy and the meat is not as juicy as once it was but still it evokes a certain era and should not be missed even if it means standing in line for 10 minutes.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Meesoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 496 of 6,667 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Renowned as one of the most popular, and staple figures of Quebec. The smoked meat sandwich, in one of it's greatest forms! Don't bother with the decore, you're in for a treat!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Thierry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2018 via mobile

Last time I have been in Schwartz was almost 10 years ago. RACH time I wae around , I was discouraged by the big tourist mop waiting for hours to get a place. This late evening was quite and we gave a try with friends. To dum it up quite
Turn off. It was late and dirty , crumbs on and under the table. Slowwww service and unpleasant. This place basically serves smoked meat sandwaches and fries.
I have eaten better smoked meat sandwaches in Montreal and wonder why is this placea tourist attraction. It is a tourist fluke.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Okay, it's been a while since we were there but everytime someone suggests we go it reminds me of the one time we went and so I turn down the offer.

The food was excellent, but the service was so rushed you could barely get half a sentence out and they had your meal in front of you, then just as we were taking our first bite, they put the bill in front of us, like here's your hat, what's your hurry.

The place was so jam crammed with people there was not even elbow room.

The guys working there didn't give you the time of day and were very abrupt, just tell us what you want, don't talk, just eat as fast as you can and get out so we can get the next guy in the door.

They really need to expand and renovate so can actually enjoy the food and the atmosphere.

Smoke Meat Pete's in Ile Perrot has just as good or better food but the service and atmosphere is MUCH better.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank deck2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Very typical of Montreal.the sandwiches are nice, if you like meat! The portions are big and the service quick.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Quest72888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwartz's also viewed

 

Been to Schwartz's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing