We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring cash”
Review of Schwartz's

Schwartz's
Ranked #74 of 5,769 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Pollock Pines, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“bring cash”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

the meat was as great as advertised. the staff is great. cash only, but they take American money in a pinch. I had a small plate of smoked meat (brisket I believe) and it was plenty for dinner and 2 big sandwiches the next day. The waiter wrapped it all very nicely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaelB241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,371
    1,616
    803
    235
    179
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Smoked meat was awesome”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had their smoked meat sandwich (we opted for their fatty option), and the meat melted in our mouths!!! They are different from the NYC deli experience (Katz's, Carnegie, etc.), and I would argue, slightly better!!! I would pass on the pickles (cornichons), but a definite yes to the Cott's Black Cherry colas!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BubbaBri888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, usa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great Deli...”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I grew up eating deli and have had brisket in a number of ways and this is the best. The smoked meat is even better then my grandmother used to make. The cole slaw was exceptional - old world vinegar taste. I don't eat pickles but my husband and son both loved them. I wish we had more time in Montreal so we could go a second time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“More than worthy of its reputation”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Schwartz's has the reputation of being *the* place to go for smoked meat. And after (finally) getting there, I have to agree! SImple, friendly, local, a place to blend in and eat your lunch in the midst of a microcosm of the diversity of Montreal. The menu is simple, but I was surprised to be given the choice of 'fattiness' of my meat. I chose lean. The meat just melted in my mouth - it was divine. The spices were perfectly balanced, and the bread a worthy match. Get the pickle - one is enough for two people to share. We also chose to share one order of fries and one coleslaw. It made the perfect lunch. And I loved looking at all the signed photos on the wall of the celebrities who have visited over the years. It was definitely like going back in time - I am sure it doesn't look any different now to how it looked 50 years ago! We had a late lunch and just walked right in - no line up at all!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Great Sandwich!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We went around 2 o'clock on Sunday and there was a line, but quickly moved and was able to be seated within 5 minutes. We were party of 5, and ordered regular sandwich platter along with cherry soda as recommended by super friendly staff. Meal's GREAT, and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schwartz's also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Schwartz's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing