We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoke meat galore”
Review of Reuben's

Reuben's
Ranked #51 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $16
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Description: Welcome to Reuben's Restaurant. A visit to Montreal is never complete until you visit Reuben's Restaurant. Built in 1976, Reuben's Restaurant is the home to the finest Montreal smoked meat, steaks and homemade cheesecake. The menu also includes chicken, ribs, seafood, Italian and Greek cuisine, all cooked to perfection and served to you by our friendly staff. The menu has something for everyone. We even serve breakfast 7 days a week, starting at 8 am on weekdays. This busy Montreal landmark also offers wine, beer and cocktails with your meal. To complete the Reuben's experience, a huge piece of fresh homemade cheesecake or carrot cake will definitely satisfy your sweet tooth! Our complete menu is available for take out, to eat at home with your family and friends, or to feel like home in your hotel. We also offer catering services for your corporate meetings, conventions or holiday parties.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Smoke meat galore”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The locals know about this place. Yes, you have to go downstairs into a rather dark restaurant but you go for the smoke meat and nothing else. I grew up in Montreal so I know smoke meat and when I can, I come here. My wife and I ordered just the man sized smoke meat - old fashioned lean. It was excellent and a meal in itself.

There's nothing fancy here but it is a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for a reason. Make sure you go to this address. There is another on Saint Catherine that is street level and I have know idea if it is the same owners or not.

Remember - order only the smoke meat. It's awesome!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coachboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    390
    110
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of fun ”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Right around the corner from our hotel, this cool place was highly recommended. Excellent chicken soup and other deli choices. Made the mistake of ordering the poutine. Maybe you'll like it but better have an iron stomach. All in all, Reuben's is well worth checking out.

Helpful?
Thank MATrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not terrible-not great”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Dark and dingy, basic breakfast staples adequately prepared. More of a dive then anything, but not in way. A good dive is always a treat. So many better options in Montreal. This place is not interesting or great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssproutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Service, Yummy Food, Excellent Value”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Wow, the people that work here are SO nice. I came in with my young daughter and everyone was so warm and welcoming to her. Everyone was so focused on providing great service and we were so happy to chat with the servers. Such a great experience.

We ordered the smoked meat plate and it was huge and absolutely delicious. There were mountains of fries and a very generous serving of smoked meat. I love that in Montreal, you are given an option of lean/regular/fatty smoked meat. We ordered the fatty (we were on vacation) and it was juicy, luscious, salty, and delectable. It was everything that I had been hoping for when I had my craving for that tasty Montreal smoked meat.

The value of this place was extraordinary and I love what a throwback the ambience is. It takes me back to sitting at lunch counters with my dad when I was a little girl.

This place was great, and I will certainly be back the next time I'm visiting Montreal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twinpeakslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Smoked Meat Sandwiches and Shoestring Fries”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had the "small" sandwich, fries, slaw, pickle, and drink for $9.95 and it was delicious as well as more than I could eat in one sitting. The staff is very friendly and the service is very fast. I will definitely be back if/when I return to Montreal.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GatorDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reuben's also viewed

 

Been to Reuben's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing