We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good. Not great.”
Review of Toque! Restaurant

Toque! Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Toque! Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 5,724 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $99
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Quartier International
Cross street: Saint-Antoine
Description: En creant Toque! nous tenions a mettre en valeur les produits du terroir quebecois et le travail de ceux qui nous ravitaillent. Nous tenons plus que jamais a souligner la contribution de ces fournisseurs qui meritent le titre glorieux d'artisans. Nous leur devons le foie gras de canard ou la salicorne; l'agneau ou les petits legumes, les fruits de mer ou les fines herbes. Ces infatigables artisans inspirent la cuisine de Toque! a laquelle ils apportent des saveurs, des textures et des aromes naturels d'une irreprochable fraicheur. ---16 years ago Toque! opened featuring local produce: a showcase for Quebec's terroir and its suppliers. The ongoing contributions of these artisans is no less important today. We have them to thank for foie gras de canard or salicornia; lamb of heirloom vegetables; seafood or fine herbs. These tireless farmers, foragers and fishermen inspire Toque!'s cuisine, on which they bestow tastes, textures and natural aromas and unparalleled freshness.
New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good. Not great.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food was good as was the service. My lobster was perfectly done, completely tender and delicious. However, for what they charge, I really expected a "wow" moment, a course or amuse bouche, even, that I would think about for days. That, they did not deliver. It was very good, when the prices would lead you to expect great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeatrixB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    139
    80
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An underwhelming special birthday”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was a return trip to Montreal, celebrating my sister's 60th birthday. We celebrated her 50th there and retraced our steps and our favorite dining experiences. Toque was lackluster this time around, simultaneously a bit tired and trying a bit too hard.
It's expensive, folks - in time and money. The coffee was just as fabulous as I remembered it, tinged with an orange flavor and topped with mocha cream. Yummy. Go ahead splurge, but don't blame me if you wonder if it was worth the fuss.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wgcash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you want a Gourmet Dining Experience in Montreal, this is the place!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We read the reviews of this place on TripAdvisor. We were somewhat concerned about the negative ones, but the locals reiterated: Toque! is the place for a non-traditional fine dining experience. We're foodies and like to be entertained with food presentation and a dining event, so we went our last night in Montreal - so glad we did - you should go!

The food is excellent and presented very well. Although somewhat expensive, we felt it was no more/less than fine dining experiences in other big cities we've enjoyed. We were tempted by the Tasting Menu, but ordered from the A la Carte menu:

We had a Blue Point Oyster to start with two samplings of Champagne, which were yummy together! We then had the Pan-seared foie gras, strawberry, poached rhubarb and strawberry vinegar reduction, and also the Lobster with green asparagus cream, boletus mushrooms, white asparagus, crispy bread and brown butter. Both were awesome in flavor and in presentation. For our main course we then enjoyed the Lobster Cavatelli with foie gras, cream, morel mushrooms, spinach, asparagus and parmesan cheese, and the Suckling pig loin, sponge toffee, beet, white bean purée, cameline and beet sauce. Surprisingly large servings, cooked perfectly with a simply wonderful taste! We finished with the Québec greenhouse strawberries, lime cake, mead and pink lemonade jellies and angelica sorbet, and the Fruit meringue wafers, squash cream and ice cream, strawberries and balsam fir sugar.

Enjoying it all over again just writing this...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spa-Foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes
Level Contributor
421 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Original and tasty”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Yes sometimes some details are too much(strawberry with one of the "rasors/scallops" preparation is one) but there are really some realtalent here:
violon's head with poched egg, zucchini flower stuffed with crab and even the preparation with sstrawberry are some...The gin vinaigrette is terrific.
At our table someone have stayed more "classic" but and Foie Gras and Duck werre well prepared and with sufficient details to make them original.
The desserts are of the same princip.
And parts are sufficient...(in fact regarding other reviews some find too much and some too little...reality is : normal...).
Good choice of wines and service not too present.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monpetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The decor was a little odd and not what I expected from the menu. The wait staff was very knowledgeable and attentive. The food was incredible well prepared and presented - also delicious. A little pricey as were the wines but well worth it for a special night

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SaS02110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toque! Restaurant also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Toque! Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing