We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Holder

Restaurant Holder
Ranked #21 of 5,668 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Restaurant Holder was recommended by our hotel and they picked a winner, we went to Holder for dinner on my wife's birthday and had an outstanding time, meals, service, atmosphere and drinks, all top. The staff was top, friendly, courteous and attentive, a place I have no problem recommending.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stein N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    376
    75
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hold on to Holder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

In Montreal on business. They fit my wife and I in on a busy Friday night. Great waiter. I had calamari appetizer. Fresh and succulent, not rubbery. Then the hanger steak, their take on steak frites. Very good. My wife had a salad ans pappardelle with pancetta and pine nuts. Wished I'd ordered it. It was exquisite. Lemon mousse for dessert, perfection. Nice atmosphere, sat next to friendly locals. Will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Silly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Life After Dark in Old Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This restaurant has an extensive wine list and great food. Try the octopus salad. You would expect it to taste rubbery but this was not at all rubbery and it was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Restaurant Holder. Service was attentive and courteous, even at a busy time of night. No hint of attitude even though we did not speak French. All of our courses were delicious. Goat cheese appetizer got us in the mood. Salmon and tilapia prepared perfectly. Festive but sophisticated atmosphere, plenty of beautiful people-watching without being pretentious. Worth the price for a special and fun night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We have been going to holders for over 4 years now and every time it's always a different experience....this time was special....the waiter who's name is Giuseppe was a real gentleman.....he remembered us from our last visit and that was well than over a year ago....I was impressed with his professionalism and his attention to detail with a friendly smile,it's rare to find a person who's been working at a place for 6 years and has the passion and love for his job as it was his first day!!!! We had the lobster ravioli and the octopus potato salad....the food was fantastic...if your looking for a place with a great atmosphere and friendly people holders is the place to go...Giuseppe thank you very much for your dedication !!!! Food is always great but when you have a waiter who loves his job and is always on the ball....makes the meal so much better !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sketchyfrunyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Holder also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Holder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing