We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very busy for Sunday brunch - make reservations”
Review of Restaurant Holder

Restaurant Holder
Ranked #20 of 5,712 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Ontario
Level Contributor
159 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very busy for Sunday brunch - make reservations”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We decided to come here based on a recommendation from a local. We decided to drop by for Sunday brunch at around 12:45pm; the restaurant was empty but we were told that they had the entire restaurant booked up with reservations for 1 pm but they offered us some seats at the bar. The host was right; by 1 pm the place was full. We ordered our drinks; my chocolate milk actually came out warm and was kind of gross.
We ordered our breakfasts. I had the eggs benedict with lox, which was actually very good. My girlfriend had the soft boiled eggs with caviar; it was difficult for her to eat, and excessively salty. My husband had the regular breakfast with eggs/bacon/toast; just ordinary.
The place has a really nice atmosphere and really nice bar; louder though.
Worth trying!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    383
    76
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great service and even better traditional French fare with a twist. Would definitely return when in Montreal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robby6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lively!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by my hotel concierge as a good place to take my student son and his girlfriend for dinner during my visit to Montreal.
We enjoyed every aspect of it. The "joint was jumping" on the Thursday night before Easter weekend. Very fun atmosphere, friendly and competent servers and the food was delicious, maybe a tad pricey for what it was but hey...we all enjoyed ourselves and the food very much.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hold the pickle, hold the lettuce”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

....special orders don't upset us....went here for dinner and they were so accommodating with my asks. Friendly, smiled, and took care of all my fat-reduction requests. The food was well-prepared, very hot, and arrived quickly. I had a wonderful glass of Sancerre. Great place to wrap up a tense business day. They had a full menu of regional favorites, assiette de fromage, and selection of desserts. Well-stocked bar. Next time I'm in Montreal, I would stop by again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Always consistent, never disapointed. A little pricy, but you' re in the old port! Will be back sooner or later.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank glutton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Holder also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Holder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing