We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better places to find...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pushap Sweets

Pushap Sweets
Ranked #601 of 5,679 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Cote-des-Neiges-Notre-Dame-de-Grace
Level Contributor
86 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Better places to find...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to this place for almost 20 years now but it has been going down in my opinion.
I've always taken the thali plate whiich is very cheap (6 $) but in the last visits I find everything is too oily and greasy and VERY hard to digest.
I can just imagine the cheap oils they use...
The owners/servers are very slow and always seem overwelmed.
The actual restaurant might have been a little renovated but they still dont know how to clean the walls, restrooms, etc...

Vegetarian maybe.
Quality? Surely not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 790alexandreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authenticly Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

They have renovated this restaurant which makes it a little less authentic though much smarter. All used to be worn smooth in the manner of many such places in India, by the massive press of hungry humanity. I did not take in the Toilet on this trip but I remember it as being most authentic too.Montreal loos in February look particularly forlorn its all the slushy snow.

The lunch special is served on a segmented metal tray, like a TV dinner of old and is good , filling , and cheap.The Somosas are delicious and very cheap. Five for $2 is more than enough for two people for a snack . I recently bought dinner for five for about $40 as a take out. Indian Sweets are an acquired taste. Coconut, condensed milk, alarming colours and much syrup are the principal ingredients.

While I don't think that this place is everyones cup of tea it is mine.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Best Vegetarian Indian in Montreal (or maybe anywhere)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Good homecooked Indian meals - two amply fed for under ten dollars if you get the Thali...
Friendly service, huge assortment of sweets (yuk - but lots of people like them).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank montrealdoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good value vegetarian Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We tried out Pushap for lunch and were not disappointed, especially on taste and value.
We were pleasantly greeted and served some very tasty dishes. Samosas and pakoras are quite good. The Eggplant Bharta is wonderful and the Aloo Gobi is very good. A good variety of breads too. So much food for so little $, with no room left for dessert, which was appetizing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
496 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“The samosas and pakoras are good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food and value is amazing! The environment clumzy and very crowded.
Not the best place to invite friends or family.
The bathroom is the worst place, very dirty and no maintenance, this is an indication of cleanless, how is the food? And the person who is making the food.
Questions comes to mind is e-coli, h pilori, diarrhea etc.
The service is friendly.
10 good quality samosas for 4$ is unbeatable

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Me M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pushap Sweets also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Pushap Sweets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing