We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food at affordable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Bac 97

Pho Bac 97
Ranked #406 of 5,342 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food at affordable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a good restaurant if you are in Chinatown, are hungry and don't have much money. The service is fast and plentiful. If you are expecting refined food, I would suggest going elselwhere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vzorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    39
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
666 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
“Average Food But Fast Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We chanced upon this restaurant while touring China Town. We chose it since we noticed that there were quite a number of customers inside(which we thought was an indication of good food).Incidentally, there are quite a number of Vietnamese restaurants near the Chinatown Welcome Arch

Compared to the Vietnamese restaurants that we frequent in Toronto, this restaurant is just average although I would say their service is fast(less than 10 minutes our order was served).There was not enough condiments on the very small table(no chili sauce and Vietnamese fish sauce that I am accustomed to).

The place is quite small with white tables that would remind you of typical interiors of Chinatown restaurants.

In Toronto a small bowl of Pho costs about $6 but here its $7.50 and I still have to pay $4 for half an hour of parking in Chinatown which makes dining in this place quite expensive. My husband ordered combo rice and pork chop which was served in a very small plate. We paid $24 for a small bowl of Pho(the $6 Pho in Toronto is way bigger), 2 fresh spring rolls ,rice/pork combo and 1 soda.

Incidentally, they dont serve fried rice. The menu is quite limited.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Vermicelli soup with the beef flank is the best.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Fast service and good food, decor is plain, but you can eat and run, tables Are cramped together in a small restaurant. Prices are reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hot_trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vietnamese value for money!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Excellent food for an excellent price! May look a little dingy but great food, great price & great service!! Huge portions! Staff very understanding when I needed to leave to get cash to pay!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smooth-sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Very authentic Vietnamese food in a great location. Service was excellent, food fresh, and while it is nothing fancy, the restaurant is clean, and you know that people are there for the food, not some faux Asian, atmosphere. Great prices too!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayemwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Bac 97 also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Pho Bac 97? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing