We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With A Little Bit Of Effort This Could Be A Better Resataurant”
Review of Nickels - CLOSED

Nickels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateauguay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“With A Little Bit Of Effort This Could Be A Better Resataurant”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to this restaurant of Monday October 21st with two of our friends who were visiting from Victoria BC. One of them was originally from Montreal so he knows how good our restaurants can be. This restaurant needs to be spruced up. We have often eaten in other restaurants in the chain, notably the one in Ste-Adele and we like the ambience. The food and service here wasn't bad but something was missing. Considering its location, I feel that with a little effort, this establishment could be upgraded several notches and I am sure that business will benefit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    42
    18
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Really Good Breakfast for a Really Good Price”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our breakfast of coffee, french toast, hash browns and smoked meat (never had that one before). The prices were good, the service was good, and we were completely satisfied to the point that we skipped lunch. Thinking that we may be visiting here one more time before heading back to the US...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice fifties style diner”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The food and atmosphere were great. We had a great time and they have some awesome deserts. Very friendly staff and the decorations are cool.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food and service at a reasonable cost”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had an evening meal here and tried the steak& vegies as well as the fish & chips. The meal had great servings complimented by quick and friendly service. The waiter attended us on a number of occasions to ensure that everything was satisfactory.

The atmosphere is based on the rock & roll era of the fifties/sixties (booths) and more importantly, the place was clean and fresh. It is popular during the luch hour so we did the evening meal - a great time to relax and enjoy the meal with some beer and wine. A really nice touch is that they have menus in both english and french and if you happen ask for english - they treat you with respect and don't look down on you (as some others do). Well done.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank acmee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast in America”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had a breakfast here that would horrify a Californian....bacon,sausage,two eggs,potatoes,beans,toast,fruit juice and tea.Service was nice.My friend said her coffee was weak but her strawberry crepe was packed with fruit and looked pretty good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickels also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing