We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Fish & Greek in Montreal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molivos

Molivos
Ranked #127 of 5,655 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The best Fish & Greek in Montreal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We love Molivos and try to get here every time we are in Montreal.
Since the location is downtown, it seems that it caters to a business crowd, but we like it when it's quieter on the weekend, more time to talk with the staff and owners.
The dips are delicious. Our favourites are the tzatziki and taramasalata (?). The Greek Salad is the best!! always made with the freshest ingredients. We always ask what fish is recommended and go with that. This time we had a few ENORMOUS shrimp on the grill and a grilled red snapper, which was cooked to perfection. The fish came with delicious rice and a side order of lima beans that just melt in your mouth. Outstanding! We will keep returning to Molivos!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jellypop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    38
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Marvellous evening at Molivos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the second time I have been to Molivos and the service and food was consistently very good. In fact, the food, was excellent! I love Greek food - at Molivos, the dolmades were the best I have had and the Greek Salad was authentic and made the way a Greek salad should be made - it was NOT laden with lettuce and sprinkled with other ingredients. It WAS laden with tomatoes, feta, cucumber, dotted with black olives! The service to myself and others was fast and our server, was attentive and very helpful in answering our questions. It was like this throughout the restaurant -
In chatting with the table beside us, we discovered they return to Molivos from New York once a year - I think that says it all! Excellent service, excellent food - makes you want to go back!
Cheers - Sharman

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank linkylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
187 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish Delight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The décor could use a bit of a facelift but that's about as negative as it gets. What we went for was the food and it is an excellent Greek restaurant. The staff is very attentive and does not push you through service. You can take your time and enjoy the food and wine. The grilled octopus is a must as is the Greek salad.....for that matter anything on the menu is a must. The fresh choice of fish is presented in a simple manner with the fish being the star attraction. The sides are served separately. Simple yet tasty is what you get. No need to have a plate loaded with rice and salad like so many other Greek style restaurants in town, not here. Unlike those restaurants you will pay more for a meal here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Coconut62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great grilled fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Molivos is a wonderful Greek fish house ( or fish-tavern) & continues to provide great value for excellent simply grilled fish; the friendly waiters bring the basket of fresh fish for you to choose - then it's grilled with olive oil, capers and lemon; great appetizers ,and sides

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marc s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Party of 6 Saturday evening last min. reservation accommodated waiter was very in tune with group and basically selected the entire dinner which was excellent. The serving pace was relaxed the selection and food quality very good and tasty. In my experience the food is much closer and better to authentic Greek than what is served on Prince Arthur. The menu is small as they stick to what they do best. We will make this a regular dining out experience. Satisfied +++++

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mjc2761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molivos also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Molivos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing