We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very ordinary”
Review of Molivos

Molivos
Ranked #162 of 5,710 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very ordinary”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Food was unimaginative with poor presentation . I was disappointed I didn't spend my evening at one of the many great restaurants in Montreal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    39
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Always nice seafood”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Friends had recommended this restaurant to us several years ago. It is very convenient to our hotel and within walking distance. Food is always good and seafood is fresh and nicely prepared. Price is reasonable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go Fishing at Molivos”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Molivos is a sleepy little Greek restaurant in the Ville-Marie district. This is actually my second visit, the first being 2 years ago. It has a small menu but I would not recommend going here unless you want fish for dinner. The fish of the day is listed on a chalk board but the tray will be brought out for you to make a selection. Prices are by the pound so be careful in ordering as a 2 lb fish will run you over $50 but will also serve two people. We had their Greek salad and it was excellent as were the dolmades. The fish is grilled and served simply with lemon and a few capers, accompanied by some delicious giant lima beans. Only poor part of the meal was the bread, which was served toasted. We like warm bread but their bread is dry and bland - dipping in olive oil does not help much. This is something they should and could easily fix. Definitely worth a stop for a Greek fish dinner if in the area and the prices are pretty reasonable relative to other restaurants in this expensive area of Montreal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Time4RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so great...”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The food wasn't anything special, the staff spent most of their time socializing in the back, and the table clothes and cutlery were dirty. The Prices were really high for the quality of food. Not worth it at all! I felt ripped off after I left....

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank veronica May J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice greek restaurant!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I've been once to Molivos and I enjoyed it! The fish was fresh and perfectly prepared, the greek salad was very tasty and the loukoumades are better than the ones I had in Greece! They make them crunchier than the usual preparation. Love it!
The place is very small and casual, the decor gives you the feeling you a in a typical greek tavern.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank philval2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molivos also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Molivos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing