We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere, live jazz and good food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Modavie

Modavie
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 5,655 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, French, European, Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, live jazz and good food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Modavie is a nice restaurant for an ambiance meal. You can have a good supper while listening to live jazz music. Afterwards, you can walk around Old Montreal which is always pleasant and romantic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sychel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,733
    769
    227
    73
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in Old Montreal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had an excellent meal. The food is very good. The lamb chops are delicious. The service is friendly and efficient. The atmosphere is bustling but not overwhelming..

Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank familytravel38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Montreal Magnifique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I spent my birthday weekend in Montreal this year and ate at the wonderful restaurant Modavie. The atmosphere was perfect- right in the old city very close to the piers. The owner/Maitre'D Lorenzo was fantastic. He made us feel right at home, even got the whole restaurant to join and wish me a happy birthday. The food was excellent as well. I would highly recommend Modavie for a special occasion or just for a great meal!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank STMthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
201 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

My daughter and I stopped without a reservation on a Friday at 6:30. Lorenzo greeted us upon arrival and mentioned they were booked up but could squeeze us in if we would be finished by 8:00. We already knew we wanted the spaghetti bolognese (which was the BEST I have ever had) so that was no problem. Service was good and they had jazz playing upstairs with speakers downstairs as well for the LL to enjoy. Very cute place with delicious food that we will definitely return to when back in Montreal. Thank you Lorenzo!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank COJOWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best dining experience in Montreal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

My girlfriend and I stumbled upon this hidden gem in the heart of old Montreal last year. We sat by the open window and enjoyed amazing food quality, great service from Antoine! The live jazz music created a great atmosphere and added to the experience. Lorenzo treated us like family, and the bolognese sauce tasted just like home. He even sent us home with an extra scoop of homemade sauce! We're back in Montreal a year later and have made reservations for tonight! Can't wait.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bprashad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing