We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, simply amazing!!”
Review of Modavie

Modavie
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 5,769 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
Laval, Canada
1 review
“Amazing, simply amazing!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is probably by far one of the best experience I've ever had in a restaurant!! Food was delicious! (Have the lamb!!) and what a great and warm welcome by Lorenzo, the owner! Staff was attentive, and the service was impeccable. Let's not forget about the live jazz singer, Miss Sophie Tremblay! One of the sweet voice from Quebec's "Les Misérables"!! She brought even more magic to the yet fresh and unique atmosphere. I couldn't ask for more on my special one's birthday!! Thank you, Lorenzo!! We will definitely be back!
Alexandra B

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,912
    827
    241
    79
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sebringville Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“thanks Lorenzo and staff”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Wonderful dinner in Old Montreal on Feb 2, 2014. Great atmosphere, great jazz, great food. Our first visit to Montreal and we loved it. And I know that we will head to Modavie every time we visit in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great evening.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hi.

The food, the music and the service was great. My friend was in from Toronto and her b-day was the following Sunday. The band sang Happy B-day and she was brought a piece of cake. Lorenzo the maitre'd was excellent.

Kim

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, live jazz, charming/rustic”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The food is very good, but what's best of all is the overall atmosphere of the place and the friendly staff. My wife and I both had the braised lamb in a puff pastry and there is plenty of it. The manager was very friendly (Lorenzo I believe) and the wait staff are very efficient and friendly as well. I would go back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The food was out of this world delicious! I went with 3 of my girlfriends, two of which are extremely picky eaters--they loved what they ordered. I had the Guinea Fowl and was amazed at how tasty it was. The service was also fantastic, the owner Lorenzo instantly made us feel welcome and checked up on us during the night to make sure we were having a good experience. The waitress was attentive and the staff were good about dietary restrictions. The environment is also very nice, we went on a Saturday and they had a live band--just the right volume and style to make you feel sophisticated and awesome. Would definitely go again! :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing