We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, Fun and Great Food”
Review of Modavie

Modavie
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 5,724 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Funky, Fun and Great Food”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

While Modavie comes across more as a casual bar than a restaurant, the cuisine is excellent. We had great Italian meals and great service. The restaurant is lively and noisy with live music, so don't expect to be eating at a romantic hideaway. The folk singer performing the night we were there was excellent and we all enjoyed the music. I'm sorry I don't live in Montreal, as I would like to return to Modavie again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuckPass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,858
    811
    236
    77
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welland, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Reservations for Genevieve/Frank”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our second time at Modavie and it was an excellent experience. From the minute you enter, Lorenzo ensures you have the best experience. The staff is also very accommodating and polite. We love Montreal and when you find a restaurant like this....why would you go anywhere else?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Packed When We Were There”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

And when you walk into a packed restaurant you know what you're going to get. Quality for money. The only down side to our evening was that my wife and I had to yell at one another to be heard.

Great food, reasonable prices and we had a great time. My hearing returned after we left!...Oh, wonderful staff too. Go, and enjoy!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food, Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife, 15 year old son, and I came here for supper last Saturday evening. This is a very busy, happening place, the type of place that often leads to infuriating service and disappointing food. But neither was the case here. Maitre'd Lorenzo works very hard to keep his staff moving and the service is prompt and courteous. My wife's lamb dish was a hit, as was my son's steak frites. My beef tenderloin was excellent. After our meal we tried to get upstairs where the live music was, but it was full. But from what we could hear from below, the entertainment was very good, a blues duo. Lorenzo offered us complimentary ports before we left, perhaps because he was unable to get us upstairs. We shall return here the next time we are in Montreal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheKellysLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great evening at Modavie”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a lovely bistro in old montreal with live jazz and delicious food. Lorenzo was very welcoming and friendly. The service was excellent and the atmosphere is fun. A great way to end our day walking around the city. This met our desire for a romantic and fun night out for a special dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing