We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as advertised”
Review of Modavie

Modavie
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 5,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“As good as advertised”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Really cool, small restaurant right on the main tourist drag. Best lamb ever. Great service -- must try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank achates7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,948
    848
    252
    83
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We went to Modavie on June 1st and had a great time. The food was wonderful - I had the chicken penne, my hips and had the steak and our travelling partners both had the ribs. We were seated right in front of the band playing blues and at first thought it would be too loud, but it turned out fine. Great music, wonderful food, fantastic atmosphere, attentive service - lovely experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brontesassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno P, General Manager at Modavie, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you so much for such kind words and for taking the time to post such a lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great celebration”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just enjoyed fabulous dinner and drinks at Modavie. There were 8 of us, and each had a delicious entrée or salad, something on the menu for everyone. I had the shrimp and scallop pasta, and we all loved the warm bread/buns. Excellent crème brulee...our server was excellent and helpful.
Plus the music was worth it alone...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindainFergus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“4 stars really???”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Based on the high number of four star reviews we thought we'd give this restaurant a try. The prices seemed too good for an Old Montreal location. And right we were! The food was passable at best but far from being good. The pasta penne tasted like packaged pasta with sauce from a jar. The steak and frites were only slightly better. If you want good food, do not go here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJDundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruno P, General Manager at Modavie, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We are very sorry that your experience at Modavie was not satisfactory.

We have reviewed each of your comments and will be taking appropriate action to resolve each issue you mention above. Hope that in a subsequent visit, your experience will reflect what we do best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a wine bar with a very poor wine selection, and equally bland food quality.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I went to Modavie with the purpose of having a steack Tartare and a nice glass of red wine.

Location is excellent, the ambiance pleasant and authentic and the service is very friendly.
So far so good! Things went wrong though for the rest.
The biggest disappointment: the wine list! in the heart of Montreal, one of the most vibrant wine scene in the world, in a 'Bar a Vin', you can find only by-the-glass wines from large, average-quality producers. No French, Spanish or Portuguese red available by the glass, only one Italian, a mass production Chianti. Even New World choice was very disappointing.
why call it a bar a vin, then?
So I decided to skip the wine glass. Unfortunately, food (tartare + salade lyonnaise), was in the same line: quite tasteless, with frozen bread, croutons prepared in advance and as a consequence dried, cold poached egg (obviously poached in advance).

Overall quite a disappointment with this very anonymous wine list and equally bland food.

too bad, would deserve a higher standard to match the vibrant Montreal competition.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serge49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing