We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lamb, laughter, and jazz”
Review of Modavie

Modavie
Reserve with OpenTable
Modavie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 5,769 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Cross street: St. Laurent
Transit: Place D'armes Metro
Description: Seven nights a week, local bands take the stage at Montreal's hottest Jazz bar and bistro. Modavie's spirited setting sets the scene for a night of great tunes, top dining and generous pastis toasting. The bistro's far-reaching wine menu hits just the right notes and helps round off succulent lamb, fish, beef and inspired pasta dishes.
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
“Lamb, laughter, and jazz”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great food. The lamb is the specialty and it was very good, but the duck was also delightfully flavorful and luscious. Lorenzo and the staff are engaging, knowledgeable, and competent. Live Jazz and sweet desserts completed an excellent evening. Prices were moderate, the evening was excellent. The restaurant was filled with couples, larger groups, and several solo diners. All of the tables were well attended by the staff. The kitchen seems to be nimble and responsive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,912
    827
    241
    79
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Good food, amazing service... Lorenzo has it all under control”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Been here a few times... have never once been disappointed. Food is great, the live music was excellent, the service was impeccable. You can't go wrong at this place :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DannyBossa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another great dinner at Mondavie”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Last night's dinner at Mondavie was most enjoyable. The ambience is very relaxed and the service is excellent. The tables are quite close together which can make it a bit challenging for the waiters to get around but the acoustics in the restaurant must be very good because we really didn't hear the people around us. The food was excellent except that my husband found his catch of the day, the halibut, was a bit overdone but very flavourful nonetheless. My guinea fowl was cooked perfectly and the vegetables accompanying it were simply delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LMS472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an evening”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The restaurant was suggested by the concierge and we were not disappointed. We were gladly greeted by Lorenzo and made to feel that our visit was appreciated. He gave us the choice of sitting downstairs away from the music or upstairs where the jazz group was playing. We chose to be upstairs. Had to speak loudly to visit but that was OK. The atmosphere was lively. The food and drinks were very good. I had the trout. I would definitely recommend you give this restaurant a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank perryco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Modavie has extraordinary service”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal at Modavie tonight. We did not have a reservation, but the maitre'd, Lorenzo, was able to seat us.
We ordered our bottle of wine moments after we sat down. The wine prices were reasonable.
Our waiter, Antoine, was also very attentive. He took our order for steak frites. This is a specialty from France. Modavie delivered on this meal. The steak was done perfect and the fries were excellent.
The restaurant is very nice inside. I like the decor. They have a cool wine room that is visible from the dining room.
The noise level was high, so it is hard to have a conversation.
They had entertainment upstairs. The jazz singer was very good.
Our overall dining experience was very good. I would come back to Modavie again. Thank you Lorenzo and Antoine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BAHuston3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Modavie also viewed

 

Been to Modavie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing