We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not particularly memorable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mikado

Mikado
Ranked #606 of 5,656 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Quartier des Spectacles
Williamstown, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice but not particularly memorable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Nice place, comparable to other moderately priced Japanese restaurants I've been to. The food (tempura, unagi and soup) was good, but it lacked that extra special something that would have bumped it up to five starts. Service was a bit lackluster. The food was served promptly but i had to stand around for a few minutes before anyone showed up to seat me, and it was hard to get the waiter's attention to ask for the check.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    25
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely Sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We went here on our last trip to Montreal. Great service and some nice options on the menu. We loved the breaded tuna in the chef specials section and I loved the fresh rolls that used rice paper (we had the one with apple in it - very fresh tasting). Sushi and sashimi was good and reasonably priced. Restaurant has a nice atmosphere to it as well. This is a much better option that the Sushi St Denis just down the road if you value service and quality over quantity.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PrinterBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vert good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We were both at dinner, the service was good and very quick, no waste time between foods. Only 45 $ for us, 2 meals with white wine. I recommend it

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
388 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very over-rated and cold!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Went here on a Sunday night with 2 friends. Service was reasonable and sushi expensive and quite average. One friend had a "hot" main course and for $26 looked very very average, especially for the time we waited for food to be served.

The restaurant was freezing and on 3 occasions asked them to fix the heat and nothing changed.

If you want good sushi and a good experience, do not go here.

Helpful?
Thank copperbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal Qc.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“excellent japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you like sushi this is a great place, the food is always fresh. They have excellent menu with good variety. The decor is very nice, Japanese style, very good service and the prices are quite reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maurice065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado also viewed

 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing