We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For oyster lovers!!!!!”
Review of Maestro S.V.P.

Maestro S.V.P.
Reserve with OpenTable
Maestro S.V.P. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #389 of 5,820 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Cross street: Prince Arthur
Transit: St Laurent
Description:  Oyster season is year-round at Maestro S.V.P. Did you know that an  oyster’s flavor and texture differs depending on the species and origin? With a large variety of Pacific and Atlantic oysters to choose from, get ready to embark on a real adventure. We at  Maestro S.V.P. have shucked millions of oysters? So don’t be shy when asking our specialists for help in choosing your mineral-rich and low-calorie (an oyster only has 10 calories!) treat. Maestro S.V.P also offers a wide selection of seafood and fresh fish prepared with finesse and inventiveness.Scallops, lobster, steamed mussels await discovery. From Tuesday to Thursday is Maestro S.V.P tapas, a menu of small portioned items. A great way to explore the menu or just have a small snack while relaxing in the dining room or on the terrace. Located on one of the trendiest strips in Montreal, Maestro S.V.P  has been able to maintain its simple and pleasant atmosphere. Its reputation and the limited number of seats make it more than desirable to reserve a table in advance. Favorite dishes: Tuna tartare, baked crab cakes with a citrus sauce, seafood pasta, fried calamari.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For oyster lovers!!!!!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great selection of oysters and exotic mixes!! :) We were two and had a great time. Price is reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NikoMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    54
    13
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place rocks if you like oysters and if you don't well it still rocks. The only problem I had last night is that I ate too much! Way too much...They just keep bringing it and it was so good I did not know enough to stop...Very fresh...nice clean little spot. Not the kind of place I would eat in every week...but wow it was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stehib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Chatham, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent mussels, oysters”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We loved the mussels and oysters, and we found the prices fair and the service friendly, We are not so young as we used to be, however, so the music was a tad loud for us, but it was dialed back on our request. Informal, fun...a good dining experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TPB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service and Quality of Exception”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I dined at Maestro svp on a late Saturday night. First of all, we were 35mins late for our reservation. The host made us feel welcome without a trace of guilt. We had to wait about 5mins for a table. The decor is modern bistro with many large signed oyster shells on the walls and in huge glass vases. Many mirrors and trendy light fixtures add to a casual, clean atmosphere. We were seated and our server couldn't have been more helpful. Throughout the meal, she was attentive and able to answer every question happily, of which there were many. We each began with a cocktail and appetizers. I ordered two oysters off their fresh list, per our server's recommendation after I described what I would like (16 were available that night), and we shared the tuna tartar. Both the drinks and the apps were perfect. The tuna and oysters were full flavored and fresh. We were ready to move on to our entrees. I ordered the Chilean sea bass, which was served on a bed of cooked sugar cane, garnished with pickled onions, and accompanied by oyster mushroom risotto and mixed vegetables. Definitely one of the best pieces of fish I've ever had. My wife had linguine with many various shellfish. It was quite good, but needed additional seasoning of pepper and salt. We were too stuffed for dessert. The only reason for not earning and excellent from me was the prices and selection for a glass of wine and the dessert prices. There were only 4 glasses of wine available (one red, three white), and the cheapest one was $12canadian. The desserts were all over $10canadian. I felt both of these could be more reasonable and the glasses of wine could be more affordable. I was happy with my $6 Moretti beer, but if I had wanted something else, it would have been a tough choice.My wife had a $16 glass of Joel Gott Chardonnay. I have to say that it was exceptional, but still, that is a bit steep for us. Also, newbies to Montreal: Be prepared for 17% taxes when dining in the city.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood in a nice and charming atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I discovered Maestro svp during a short holiday in Montreal. The menu is focused on seafood and specially on oysters. You can expect great choice, freshness and fantastic courses for a reasonable price. The decoration is simple but elegant. This is a place where you definitely want to go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne-Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maestro S.V.P. also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Maestro S.V.P.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing