We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Montreal
Post
Inbox
Search

“Over-priced Indian restaurant in Montreal”
Review of Le Taj

Le Taj
Ranked #125 of 6,816 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: Sherbrooke
Transit: Peel Metro station is closest to us. Take the Stanley Street Exit. Publis Bus is the #24 on Sherbrooke street. Stop is at the corner of Peel and Sherbrooke.
Description: Deeply entrenched in downtown Montreal for more than 3 decades. Carefully staffed by people trained to treat every guest as a celebrity and invitingly decorated with complex figures embedded in simple, modern lines.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Taj is not a student friendly restaurant. Although the meals are hearty you are going to get more bang for your buck at other cheaper alternatives. The service is also sub-par. As a South Asian woman I would not recommend this restaurant to my friends or family.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Indigirl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 896 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2020

We stumbled upon this wonderful restaurant on a cold snowy evening- We went without a reservation but were promptly seated by a friendly staff.

Extensive selections, small portions, quick service, and delectable food!

a must-visit!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShikhaKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020

“Outstanding”, “wonderfully delicious”, “memorable”, ‘fabulous and fascinating” are words that I came across as I read the reviews for “Le Taj”.
In my opinion, “Le Taj” is one of the finest Indian restaurants in Montreal. The décor is fabulous and fascinating, and you can count on being captivated by the precious Indian art pieces that decorate its walls and tables.
This year, we decided to visit “Le Taj” on New Year’s Day. The place was packed, with all the tables booked, plus a few other guests that waited patiently at the bar. Once we were seated, our orders were promptly taken, and Ari (our main server) and two other servers, were attentive and courteous. That Ari did his job enthusiastically would be an understatement – he did it with extreme care and attention.
Their lamb saag, is the finest lamb saag I have eaten, and the naans were fresh, fluffly and deliciously warm. The Baigan Bhurta was just as exceptional. All in all, this meal was certainly one of the finest.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shahedarizvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2019 via mobile

Le Taj combines old style elegance with fresh food and are rice service. It’s hard to find good quality Indian food. This is the real deal.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank doctorbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2019

From start to finish the service was great and the food excellent. Very busy place so a reservation is a must. Definitely go again. Price was very reasonable.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dennis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Taj also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing