We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Quality and Amazing Value Fir Money”
Review of Le Taj

Le Taj
Ranked #125 of 6,849 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Cross street: Sherbrooke
Transit: Peel Metro station is closest to us. Take the Stanley Street Exit. Publis Bus is the #24 on Sherbrooke street. Stop is at the corner of Peel and Sherbrooke.
Description: Deeply entrenched in downtown Montreal for more than 3 decades. Carefully staffed by people trained to treat every guest as a celebrity and invitingly decorated with complex figures embedded in simple, modern lines.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I dropped by for their Sunday buffet lunch.

Firstly I was surprised by how busy they were! I had to wait a few minutes even for a table for one BUT it was well worth it.

A wonderful selection of dishes and incredible value for money.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank AH151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (886)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been a customer for over twenty years.Basically North Indian. Tandoori. Food is outstanding and service is first class. Very busy until 9 PM so make reservation if earlier.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank alpha9014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

This is the best restaurant for fine dining Indian food . The place is well situated down town. Service is excellent .

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fortune2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

I've happened upon this restaurant on two separate visits to Montreal (about four years apart). Both times I was very satisfied with the Indian food and service. The menu has a variety of pretty standard Indian dishes. Le Taj is conveniently located near McGill University. When we arrived on our most recent visit, the restaurant was crowded, but the staff seated us cheerfully.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 266billg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

My work colleague persuaded me to come here , as he is a vegetarian, and raved about the cooking. We shared a large platter too complicated to describe, but I went on to try the beef vindaloo and the salmon xacutti. The flavours were more developed and had more subtle nuances than I am used to. The stand out was the salmon. I have never had it in an Indian restuarant, and it was sublime. basically done with a dry rub, and baked until quite dry,it was a revelation.
The waiter was exellent, and the kingfisher beer was cold and refreshing.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ray Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Taj also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing