We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Nil Bleu

Le Nil Bleu
Ranked #128 of 5,682 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went with few friends last October, didn't know what to order. The waitress suggest sample menu, which was a very good choice. We tried everything. Everything is tasty. It is not a big restaurant, but very cozy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xiaolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    120
    34
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lunch on wednesday, it was the second visit for my wife and the first ... and certainly not the last for me ... 2/3 of the appetizer plate was vegetarian the last third was pretty hard core carnivore.... a wonderful modest portion of tartare. We were off to a wonderful start and John our guide for the meal was friendly, swift and more than helpful.

We enjoyed a wonderfully refreshing glass of Mango/Ginger juice with the meal (and a glass of wine for one of us too :-) )

The main plate of N'jera was perfect ... and given that we recently relocated from Nairobu and are used to eating Ethiopian food in East Africa we may not have been expecting such great flavours and presentation.

We finished off ... or may I say "were finished off" by two small pieces of specialty cake ... on lemon meringue and the other Chocolate Mango Curry Cake !!!

A memorable and wonderful lunch ... soon to return ... Eat with your hands in a most beautiful and elegant setting ...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelArapLel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

a must :) great athmosphere, 5 * dinning with your hands with authentic african dish , service 5* and if you'd like to stay overnight in one of their suites .....you'll leve it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank veronique v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
227 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Went to this resto after purchasing an online deal.
Had to try this type of food,
Beautiful decor, great food, very good drinks.
If you need some utensils you will have to ask the server. If not they give you a type of bread that you use to scoop up your food.
Great choice

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Namaste24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We left hungry after spending $46.00 for lunch”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

It didn't start well. The service was intolerably slow and the restaurant was only one third full for a recent lunch time visit. Not knowing what to expect, I selected an African restaurant through trip advisor to bring my friend from Cameroon. The soup and salad were excellent. The main courses were a big disappointment. I had the chicken which consisted of exactly 3 bites of chicken in a sauce with a hard boiled egg on top. It was served with a few pieces of zucchini and peppers and bugler which neither of us liked. We were told it is their version of rice. My friend had the beef in a weird tasting peanut sauce and it too consisted of exactly 3 pieces of meat which she couldn't eat as it was very rare. At $20.00 for soup and 3 bites of chicken I felt it was very overpriced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboycody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Nil Bleu also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Le Nil Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing